Top 10 Ice Cream Flavors

Well, I’ve been writing about things that are completely serious lately, so I thought that I would write about something that is 100% meaningless to anyone but me. Ice Cream is awesome. I’m something of a picky eater, and my favorite ice cream flavors is no exception. So, with that in mind, I thought of some ice cream flavors that I am in love with and someone could give me at any point and make me a happy dude. This is about as esoteric as it gets, but whatever. This is my site, after all. If you all like some of these, let me know. You will be one of the cooler people who comments on my site.

10. Gimme S’More
Ben and Jerry’s is going to be ALL over this list. Not my fault that they make some damn good ice cream. This flavor is so smooth that I just love it. You have the chocolate pieces, which admittedly isn’t my favorite things, but the graham cracker pieces and the marshmallow flavor of ice cream go together in such a fantastic way that I love it every time I eat it. Like an ice cream reminder of my childhood. Especially nice right now.

9. Strawberry
This one isn’t limited to any one brand, because I have yet to find one that I prefer over another for this particular flavor.  Strawberries are my favorite kind of berry, as well as my favorite kind of jam.  As such, it should come as no surprise that it would tie in to my favorite ice cream flavors as well.  When it is done well, it is soft and gentle flavor that carries memories of summer.  I’ve never had it done poorly, so I guess I don’t know what that would be like.  Strawberry ice cream that has chunks of strawberries in it is my personal favorite, naturally.

8. Phish Food
Something to know about me – I am NOT a fan of chocolate ice cream.  Like, at all.  I have never liked it, no matter what you combine it with.  At least, I would have said that until Ben and Jerry’s introduced me to this particular flavor of the stuff.  Combining chocolate ice cream with fudge fish shapes, caramel, and marshmallow, it is such a wonderful combination of flavors and textures that it just works.  It’s odd, but I am fine with that. 

7. Rainbow Sherbet
Fruity flavors are always a good combination for me, but for ice cream, this little combination just does it for me.  I can’t remember what it was that introduced me to this flavor, but it has stuck with me ever since.  This weird tangy combination of so many different fruity flavors, it is a dazzling alchemy of frozen dessert.  However, it seems that I am not in the popular opinion on this, since I don’t see much sherbet ice creams in general, and even less of this little marvel.  Oh well.  Being in a taste minority is fine by me.

6. Double Vanilla
Another brand who is going to show up more and more as we get higher on this list is Private Selections.  These guys have a gift at making some DAMN GOOD ice cream!  Here is the first of their number on here.  Vanilla ice cream is the quintessential of dull, tasteless flavors that are seen as bland by people.  However, in the right hands, it can be a wonderful, rich and irresistible flavor that can make me fall in love.  That is where Double Vanilla comes in.  It is one such version, and I cannot recommend it enough.

5. Orange Cream
There are a few versions of this one, and I love all the ones of it I have had as well.  Orange is a very powerful flavor.  By itself, it can be too much.  However, when one adds cream, it is flawless.  Reminds me of those Lifesavers candies that had fruit and cream taste combinations.  Whatever happened to those?  Anyway, this is a flavor that combines rich and creamy with light and tangy.  I love them both and together, it is one of my favorite things.

4. Cherry Garcia
This flavor, man.  This wonderful, rich, tasty, fruity, perfect flavor.  The ONLY thing that is wrong with it is the size and prevalence of chocolate pieces, but other than that, it is wonderful.  I cannot get enough of it.  It’s hard to talk about it without just devolving into unending love for it.  The cherry flavor is so perfectly made that I cannot believe it is not a bigger flavor.  If you have never tasted this nirvana of fruity perfection, you must!  You must do so with haste!

3. Cookies and Cream
Another one that is hard to sell because it really is one of those things that just sells itself.  You take Oreos, you crush them up, then put them in ice cream.  Really, that’s it.  It’s almost one of those ’nuff said moments.  When it is done well, there is that fantastic texture of the cookie with the rich flavor of the ice cream.  I imagine that combining these two things was a no-brainer for the ice cream industry when Oreos became a thing, and it still stands as one of my favorites to this day.  Can’t pick a version I like most.  They are all wonderful.

2. Cinnamon Buns
Where the fuck did this flavor go?!  Why did it disappear?!  Can somebody please bring it back?!  Far and away my FAVORITE Ben and Jerry’s flavor, bar none.  It is perfect.  I would change absolutely nothing about it.  The cinnamon bun pieces have this great taste and texture.  The cinnamon swirls are so tasty and dreamy.  The ice cream flavor is rich and delicious.  For the life of me, I cannot think what compelled them to remove this flavor, but I desperately wish it could come back.  The world needs it.

And my favorite ice cream flavor is…

1. Belgian Chocolate Irish Cream
I remember when I first saw this stuff at the store, I thought to myself – odd.  But since I’ll try most anything once, I decided that this was worth my time to go for.  And holy shit!  It was so good that I went right back to the store and got more.  This flavor is without peer.  It’s rich.  It has this incredible depth that brings out so many happy feelings.  It was my addiction!  But then…it was gone.  That was the saddest day I’ve had in a VERY long time.  A day that made me feel so sad that I tried to scour other stores to find it.  Seems it was popular with other people too.  Now it’s gone.  Sad days.

What flavors do you love?  Anyone who says Rocky Road can get fucked.  Walnuts are gross.

Until next time, a quote,

“It’s good.”
“Spared no expense.” – John Hammond, Jurassic Park

Peace out,

Maverick

1 thought on “Top 10 Ice Cream Flavors

Leave a comment