YouTube is Strangling the Talent From Their Site

I remember back when I first started really watching YouTube.  It was 2008 or 2009.  I was into college and I remember hearing about this YouTube personality called The Amazing Atheist.  I tuned in, and I remember really liking what I saw.  So I decided to see what other voices there were.  There was Thunderf00t, King Heathen, Dark Matter 2525, Coughlin 666, gogreen18, and others.  An atheist movement came together on YouTube.  And it was awesome.  This little community that was fighting against organized religion.  What’s more – it was winning.  In the end, organized religion lost out.  Atheism won.

From there, I had personalities that were fun to watch and I got invested.  I still watch The Amazing Atheist.  I still love his content.  I love the podcast he is on.  It feels like I have some friends.  What’s the term now?  “Para-social relationships,” I think?  Yeah, I feel that.  It’s what led me to briefly be on a livestream show.  God how I miss that.  I have been with TJ and my compatriots through it all.  I have seen the destruction of the YouTube atheist community from SJW influence.  I watched the battle go from YouTube to gaming.  I have seen the battle go to the news.  All the drama, all the turns of what was happening.  It feels so familiar to me.

So when I see what YouTube has decided to do to the people who got them where they are today, it legitimately hurts.  What’s more, people’s lack of being upset bugs me too.  See, the old media has decided that since they can’t win the war against new media on a level playing field, they will attack their main platform’s money and then try and bankrupt the competition.  The really depressing part is it worked.  All of the major anti-SJW YouTube personalities are talking about how they can find a way to keep their content going.  Others are already saying that they are going to throw in the towel.  That they won’t try and make content if they can’t get paid for it.  New media showed how weak they are, and instead of having to up their game, they instead are trying to just burn down their competition.

And they’re winning.  Corporate old media is winning the online war.  What’s more, they have the people who view this content siding with them.  Lots of these fucking assholes going “better go out and get a REAL job, YouTubers!”  Yeah, because what they do isn’t a real job.  If it’s so easy, then why doesn’t your uniquely lazy ass working at Starbucks go out and do it?!  Go ahead!  Show me what you got!  Since corporate media is turning YouTube into a PG zone so no one’s fee-fees are hurt, show me what you got.  The old media is winning, and no one seems to care.  That just blows my fucking mind.

I love the YouTube personalities I watch.  Sure, most of the ones I watched long ago are gone.  I don’t even know what Coughlin is up to these days.  Probably getting no views as he keeps spouting SJW bullshit.  Haven’t seen a GrapplingIgnorance video in years.  King Heathen, whatever happened to him?  We all know what happened to Laci Green.  So many personalities, and they’re gone.  TJ continues.  So do others, who have found a way to make a living putting out incredible content.  Content that has been with me for so long and even helped me get through rough times.  These people’s livelihoods are threatened, because YouTube has decided that instead of standing up for YOUTube, they are going to try and be another Netflix or Hulu clone.  They want to have content that only caters to people who bring in Coca-Cola ads.  Like TJ and his ilk didn’t do that.  Like the people who say that SJWs are full of shit didn’t do that.

If this the direction that this platform that I love is going, then I won’t be a part of it.  I don’t go on there to watch fucking cat videos.  I go there to watch content about political and social issues.  I go to watch personalities I like make fun of the butthurt losers who feel the need to have their feelings be deified.  That’s what I am doing on that platform.  YouTube wants to take that away from me, and they have the support of the people who do NOTHING to try and stop them.  Who else is complaining?  Who else is saying that this is wrong?  Does @TeamYouTube even care what their audience thinks?  Probably not.  After all, every sign points to them planning to weather this out.  They figure that people will come back.  Well, I don’t mean to.  I can go to ACTUAL Netflix and watch something else.  I can go to whatever platform comes up next for the people I love to watch to migrate to.  Hell, I’ll blow hours upon hours of time on Drunken Peasant’s new monthly subscription site.  $5 a month to watch the content I want to watch?  Fuck yeah!

I am a patron of The Drunken Peasants.  I love so many personalities on YouTube.  If I get to see all of them go because they can’t make a living on this anymore, then fuck it.  I don’t want to watch the fucking cat videos.  Guess I am one of the few who feels that way.

Until next time, a quote,

“It’s better to burn out than fade away.” – Kurt Cobain

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

