I’m Not Alt-Right, Dusty (A response to Dusty Smith)

Anyone remember the good old days of YouTube?  The days before it became a corporate cash-cow and before SJWs had so much sway in the media?  I remember those days.  They were good times.  You had a “community” of skeptics kicking the ass of creationists and life was alright.  There’s someone else who remember those days.  Another person who pines for the era before the modern one.  His name is Dusty Smith, aka Cult of Dusty.  I know that I’m not the first to come to this party bus, but I wanted to make my position to this ill-informed buffoon very clear.  Because the thing is, I pride myself on the fact that I take the time to learn about people and groups before I mock them.  It’s the reason why I am certain beyond any doubt that Anita Sarkeesian is no feminists.  She’s a con artist.  Likely the greatest who has ever lived.  Although, maybe I’m wrong.  The real greatest con artist is Donald Trump.  He actually convinced a bunch of conservatives that he is one of them, when his ENTIRE history up to this point was as a centrist.  Funny how that works.  But I digress.

Dusty is making the argument that the online skeptic “community” is now full of people who are “alt-right,” and how he thinks that is just the worst.  Ah, I remember the days when Dusty’s channel wasn’t a giant sack of shit.  There’s something I pine for.  Let me share the video with you, so you can have all the necessary context, and then I’m going to rip this guy a new asshole for lumping all people who are part a community that he takes umbrage with into a category when some of them clearly do not fit.

We first have Dusty bitching about the way things used to be in such a way that makes me think that he has the “back in my day, sonny” mentality.  He is a southerner, after all.  Then he makes one of the most bafflingly-stupid statements – that the alt-right has taken over the YouTube atheist community.  He goes off to list a series of YouTubers, and I am in shock of how little research Dusty must have done for his video.  He lists Sargon of Akkad, who has openly said that he is left-leaning, Chris Ray Gun, who has openly said that he is left-leaning, Armoured Skeptic, who has openly said that he is center-left leaning, and The Amazing Atheist as being members of the alt-right.  That last one baffles me.  TJ has made very clear that he is part of the libertarian-left.  As am I.  TJ openly calls himself a liberal and has no shame about that.  Do you research, Dusty, or did you need to just list off names to make a point?

I think the problem here is that Dusty doesn’t get how the alt-right works.  He’s a guy who yells into a video camera, so I don’t expect him to get into the nuance with people.  The thing about the alt-right as I have come to understand it is that it is full of all-kinds of opinions.  You have flamboyant gay men like Milo Yiannopoulos, some angry MGTOWs, some crazy white nationalists, you got all kinds.  The reason is because these people see themselves as right-wing, but not the right wing as it has been in American discourse.  They seem themselves as kind of a counter-culture to that.  But the thing that all of these people have in common – they call themselves alt-right, Dusty!  It’s a designation that they chose.  I guess your dumb hick ass didn’t realize that to be a part of this community, it has to be something you choose to be, rather than something foisted on you by a southerner who can’t logic much.

The video goes on about how the atheist community used to go after religion, but now all it does is go after SJWs.  Dusty, here’s the thing you need to understand – the atheist community did go after religion.  But then something happened.  Atheism + happened.  That little cabal of radical feminists and social justice warriors ripped the atheist community, such as it was, right down the middle.  It got us fighting each other.  So the big names at the time, Thunderf00t, Mykeru Media, and The Amazing Atheist decided that they were going to fight back against this.  Because religion was no longer the big issue that they had to deal with in their daily life.  Creationists had gotten their ass kicked and limped their way back to their little hovels in obscurity.

And the reality is that social justice did become a bigger problem.  It still is.  Social justice warriors are like ideological locusts.  They invade communities, co-opt them, and they destroy them.  That’s what they did to atheism.  They took over the community, got us to fight among ourselves, and left.  Then they spread their wings to every outlet.  They have completely taken over education, though there are signs that some universities have decided to stand their ground and not let these infantilizing bigots take over their campus.  Props to them.  They took over the media, with virtually no resistance.  Then they turned their eye onto a medium that I dearly love – gaming.  But something happened when they went after gaming.  Something they didn’t expect – gamers stood their ground.  The gaming community said, “NO!  This is our hobby!  You can’t have it!”  And the battle has been raging ever since.  But there are signs that the tide is turning here too.

I say this because Dusty has this ignorant idea that we all just decided that social justice is bad one day and to talk about it.  Wrong, dumb-dumb!  We saw the real negative effect that these people were having, and chose to fight back against it.

But then Dusty makes one of the stupidest statements I have ever heard.  He claims that the atheist community decided that instead of supporting Hillary, which he claims is the “traditional liberal candidate,” we all joined the alt-right in supporting Trump.  Sit down, Dusty.  We need to have a talk.  I did not support EITHER of those people.  But I especially did not support Hillary.  Why?  Because that woman is a two-faced snake in the grass.  She has been proven by leaked emails to have used all the power and clout she could with the establishment to get her way.  She is a corporate insider of the highest caliber, who basically wears on her sleeve that she can and will be bought, if you give her enough money.  What on Earth would make you think that I will support a candidate who has no charisma, no trustworthiness, and who has been saber-rattling with Russia to cover her ass with WikiLeaks?!  As for Trump, I saw him as a troll who is having fun with the conservatives and probably never expected his little game to get as far as it did.  I cast my vote during the primaries for a candidate I could believe in.  I refused to help support ones that I do not.

The reality is that all of Dusty’s bitching stems from this idea that all the YouTube skeptics are doing this for money, and they are making a lot of money off it.  Dusty sounds salty about it.  He goes on to say that instead of focusing on SJWs, we need to be more critical of Islam because they are a bigger threat.  My response to that is – not where I am, Dusty.  Here in the good ol’ US of A, we are pretty safe.  If I was in Germany or France, you bet your ass I would be much more openly critical of Islam.  Islam is a real threat to them, and I genuinely do wish that their governments would stop tip-toeing around the issues.  Though here’s something that I guess Dusty either didn’t know or didn’t care about – the people who are the biggest apologists for radical Islam right now are the fucking SJWs!  Because these people think that Islam is a race and if you insult Islam, you are a hateful bigot.  I have seen people in this community actually say that the Prophet Muhammad (gays be upon him) was a feminist.  One publication said he was likely the very first feminist.  Did that ever occur to you?  Oh, right, you can’t logic much, so I bet you either didn’t know, or didn’t care.

I get that nuance is hard for Dusty, so he has to yell and hope his point gets across, but it makes you look really stupid when you make a blanket statement about people in the YouTube atheist community for what appears to be salt that they are making much more money than you.  And finally, another thing – I am NOT part of the alt-right.  I am part of the libertarian-left.  Want proof?  Here ya go, son.

PoliticalI think we’re done here.

Until next time, a quote,

“Stupid is as stupid does.” – Forrest Gump

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

