My Comic Book Idea Coming to Life

To anyone who doesn’t remember, I had an idea for a comic book that I made a post about (linked here).  It tells the story of a man who is murdered and subsequently approached by Death.  It makes an offer to him that he can stay in the world of the living and live a normal life, so long as he acts as the Reaper, going after the souls of the undead who have transgressed in a way that Death finds unacceptable.  He takes the contract and thus is given back his life.  Now he is a being who can travel between the land of the living and that of the dead.  He becomes embroiled in the politics of the undead and the nature of the Unlife currency that all undead want in order to not have to stay in the City of the Dead.

My problem when thinking of this really cool idea is that I can’t draw.  At all.  I can write with all the flair and flourish that I could ask for, but that form of artistic expression is forever beyond me.  However, I recently got a beacon of hope from an unlikely source that has quickly gone from a workplace acquaintance to someone who is very important to me.  She said she wants to do some panels of this comic.  I was emphatically behind that, but didn’t feel the need to crush her creative energy by making what I had in mind very outlined and rigid.  I recognize that sometimes genius happens at moments you do not expect.  She has completed her first initial sketch for the project, and I think it’s awesome.  So let me show all of you.

14937016_10154719305514111_1630433156_nThere are no words for how awesome I think this is.  I cannot wait to see what she comes up with next.  And because I want to see where this goes, along with giving her work more exposure, I will be posting what she comes up with on my site.  Let me know what you all think down in the comments.  This is the initial sketch of the Reaper in my comic.  So badass.

Until next time, a quote,

“I dream my painting, and then I paint my dream.” – Vincent Van Gogh

Peace out,

Maverick

One thought on “My Comic Book Idea Coming to Life

Leave a Reply

