Let’s Respond to Christians (of BuzzFeed) Defending Themselves

I’ve done a lot of responses to BuzzFeed Yellow videos.  The bulk of which are questions that one ethnic group has for stereotypical white people.  Because I guess stereotypes are fine, so long as it’s against a class of people that they don’t like.  Funny how that works.  I even did a response to an older BuzzFeed video where they tried to tackle Islam and their stereotypes against us whiteys.  Well, now it seems that Christians want to take their crack at it.  So let’s tackle this.  Here’s a link to their video, now let’s get down to it.  I get the feeling that they are going to  be fighting against Strawman Atheist in this video.

I’m Christian, but I’m not homophobic

Good for you.  Your holy book is.

I’m Christian and I’m definitely not perfect.

Don’t Christians believe that they are born with sin that the have to eternally pray for?

I’m Christian, but I’m not close-minded.

Your holy book is.  Just look at their opinions about shellfish and rape.

But I’m not unaccepting

Okay

But I’m not uneducated.

You believe that the world was created by a divine being who reigns over us all.  Either you are deliberately ignorant or you are closing off part of your faculties in order to preserve that belief structure.  Which is it?

But I’m not judgmental.

Everyone is judgmental.  Everyone.  That is the ultimate lie.

But I’m not conservative.

So, the parts of the Bible that say that women are to keep silent and gay men are to be stoned to death?  Do you just close your eyes and pretend that those don’t exist?  I honestly am more annoyed by liberal Christians than conservatives.  At least the conservatives are honest about their premise.

But I’m not ignorant.

You believe that a magical man in the sky created the universe.  Yes you are.

But I don’t place myself on a pedestal.

You’re in a BuzzFeed video.  Yes you do.

I’m a Christian, but I don’t have all the answers.

Glad to hear that.  Shows real humility.

But I am accepting.

Cool

But I am queer

Fantastic.  Your God hates you.  And his kid said that that didn’t go away with his appearance.  He outright says that he did not come to abolish the Old Testament laws, but to fulfill them.

But I am gay.

See previous response.  Your God hates you.

But I am a feminist.

So, those parts that say that a woman is less than a man and that women should have no power over men and that women should stay silent in church?  Or the part that says that a man who rapes a girl should have to pay the father some silver shekels and marry her?  You just pretend that doesn’t exist?

But I’m a feminist.

Same deal.

Definitely am a feminist.

The logical hoops you must jump through for that are impressive.

But I do believe in science.  In fact, I think science makes God look really cool.

Oh yeah.  Like that part where he creates a person by pushing some dirt together and breathing into that.  Something that scientifically impossible.  Yup, that totally makes God look cool.  Or the part where God floods the entire world, which is impossible due to the fact that there is no amount of water that exists that could do such a thing.  Or that the rain would have to fall in such a way that it would be like smashing something over and over again with sheetrock for weeks.  Yeah, those biblical stories sure do make science and God seem compatible.

I’m not afraid to talk about sex.

Cool.  Same here.

I love Beyonce.

Who cares?

But I love wine!

Jesus turned his blood into it.  You’re cannibalizing him with each glass.

But I do believe in monogamy before sex.

You’re a Christian.  That’s not very shocking.

But I do go to church on Sunday.

Yeah, that makes sense.

I do listen to Christian music.  Christian rock, Christian rap, T-Mac (did I get that right?), all the cool kids.

You have shit taste in music.  Congrats.

I have friends from all walks of life and all religions.  And I love them all.

This isn’t a shock.  It’s like you think us atheists just assume that you all are part of conservatives enclaves.  We know that there are Christians of all stripes.

What I guess I want people to know about Christianity is that we’re kinda not all crazy.

Never said you were.  Just that your beliefs are really stupid.  How is this so complicated?

You shouldn’t be judged by just the people that you see in the media or just the people that you’ve met in your everyday life.

We all make judgments about people based on the people we meet in everyday life.  Hell, BuzzFeed’s existence is predicated on stereotypes.  Of white people.  And men.  And white men.  I judge people individually.  Do you?

A lot of people think that Christianity ruins people.

Citation, please.

But to me, I think that it’s people ruining Christianity.

Your book is bigoted and hateful.  I don’t get how this is so hard for you to understand.  It isn’t people twisting it.  It’s people believing in it.  I hate this mentality that because Jeebus came, it’s all about love and shit.  Jesus once said that he did not come as a shield, but as a sword, and told people that if they don’t love him more than their own family, they aren’t with him.  How can you just shrug that off?

You never really see the good that happens.  You only see the hypocrites.

I know, right?  I’m looking at one now.

But at it’s core, it really is about love and acceptance, and being a good neighbor.

Which passage and verse should I destroy this with?  I know – Genesis 6:7: “And the LORD said, I will destroy man whom I have created from the face of the earth; both man, and beast, and the creeping thing, and the fowls of the air; for it repenteth me that I have made them.”

Just because we have a faith that has a bunch of terrible people in it doesn’t make us terrible.

Agreed.  But you have a holy book that is full of terrible teachings.  How do you get around that?

And that’s this boredom.  That was the saddest defense of Christianity that I’ve seen in a while.

Until next time, a quote,

“I challenge you to find one good or noble thing that cannot be accomplished without religion.  It is impossible.  You cannot do it.” – Christopher Hitchens

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

