Let’s Respond to 33 “Fat Phobic” Comments

A YouTube channel called Wear Your Voice Magazine (a publication that I’m sure will take it’s place right alongside The Mary Sue) decided to post a video where they address 33 “fat phobic” comments.  I hate this term.  It’s just as stupid as “Islamophobic.”  That’s not a real thing.  I’m not afraid of Islam.  I find it repulsive.  I’m not afraid of fat people.  The chub on my belly would be a little weird about that.  I just don’t find obese women attractive.  The girl that I’m kinda-sorta in a thing with now has more than a few extra pounds on her.  She is very critical of it, but it is motivating her to work out and get healthy, because she wants to be fit.  I applaud her.  Still, I think she’s dead sexy as she is now, extra weight and all.  It isn’t a phobia.  I just don’t want to be with them, sexually.  Anyone who has watched BuzzFeed’s questions videos will be familiar with how this works.  Here’s a link to their video, now let’s talk about it.

Do you think you keep weight on to intentionally avoid intimacy?

The lead-in with this line is that I guess it was this girl’s shrink who said this.  While that is a really weird question, it is legit.  So many of the SJW landwhales are so scared of sex that I honestly think that they do keep the weight on to not be attractive to the opposite sex.  Or their own, if that’s what they’re into.

Even your voice sounds fat.

There are rude people in the world.  Something that gay people and any other group of people have figured out is that you have to be pretty thick-skinned to get through life.  The thing is, you women (oh, I’m sorry, womyn.  Because if they are associated with men, then that’s just evil) get to have all sorts of shoulders to cry on.  Meanwhile, the short, chubby balding dude has to suck it up and deal with it.  Funny how that works.

Wow, you really work out?

The problem with these comments that these women supposedly have gotten is that because there is absolute-zero context given, I have no idea where this remark came from.  Let’s assume that all of these comments are real, because it makes this easier, moving forward.  Was this from a friend?  Maybe they were actually glad that you are.  I don’t know.  But you seem the type who wants to assume the worst.  So yeah.

If you were skinnier, you could TOTALLY be a plus-sized model

What’s the problem there?  They are saying that you are attractive.

Wow, you can’t choose to be black, but you can choose to be fat.

Not with everyone.  Some people have gland problems and things like that.  But those people are rare.  The simple reality is that the reason that the bulk of America is fat is because of a problem that Doug Stanhope so eloquently pointed out – they need to plug up the top hole because they’re eating too much.  I’m actually so much better about eating too much.  I am so regimented in my dining habits.  But I still like crappy food.  Pizza is my jam.  I love to cook, and guess what my favorite thing to cook is – desserts.  I make these choices.  So do most of you.

You should try the Zone Diet

What’s that?

People like you aren’t supposed to wear bold colors that call attention to your body.

If you want to look slimmer, yeah.  Dark colors are slimming.  There’s real science behind it.  Some kind of trick in the eyes.  The people telling you there are right.  This person is rude, but they aren’t wrong that wearing brighter colors does make you look fatter.

You don’t have the body type for a dancer.

Shows what that person knows.  There’s this S&M club that I frequent where one of the women who I enjoyed talking to the most is a stripper who is all about being a plus-sized dancer.  Given how much she takes home each night, there’s clearly a market for that.

Everyone wants to be skinny because there are NO benefits to being THAT FAT.

Yeah.  Being fat is a horrible thing.  It is murder on your body.  You are doing so much harm to your body by being fat.  Your risk of heart disease, diabetes, and other conditions skyrockets.  Both of the first two run in my family.  As does obesity.  On both sides.  Another reason why I like to go out for walks every night after work.  It helps me burn off the sedentary calories from my desk job and helps me avoid something that is a real risk.

I wonder what you would look like thin.

It is an interesting thought.

I’m just worried about your health.

As they should be.  Obesity is a horrible thing and it does horrible things to you.  If this person cares enough about you to want to help you live a better life, what’s the problem?  They are worried about you.

Is your partner fat too?

Shows what they know.  Remember that woman I mentioned earlier from the S&M club?  Her guy is the skinniest little dork you’ve ever seen.  He is her bitch, in more ways than one.

I really love what we got going on, but I’m just not into…big girls.

I see what happened here.  You are into somebody, and they are pretty tight with you.  You tried to go the distance with them, but they aren’t attracted to you.  Well, sorry, buttercup, but life isn’t fair.  Sometimes things don’t work out the way you wanted.  Sometimes you are just a friend to someone.  Deal with it.

You’re so brave to dress like that.  I wish I didn’t care what I look like.

Without any context, this could mean anything. She could have gone out dressed in a clown suit, for all I know.  And this makes me think back to that bit on Family Guy about how women don’t know how to be friends.

Having curves is not the same thing as being fat.

It’s true.

It’s hard to believe that someone like you exercises.  I bet you can’t even run one mile.

Yeah, this person’s a dick.  Life is full of dicks.  Interspersed among the comments that are clearly taken out of context or not as bad there are genuinely rude things.  As I said, mean people exist.  That’s life.

There’s no point in losing weight. You’ve already ruined your body.

That’s blatantly not true.  Entering a healthy lifestyle can always do good things.  Granted, the longer you maintain a lifestyle where you treat your body like the frat in Animal House, the harder it will be.  But if you were to start exercising and truly do find a healthy habit to do, then I guarantee that you would be better off than living the way you are.  The person who said this is retarded.

You’re gonna wear Spanx (is that right?) with that, right?

Don’t even know what that is.

I don’t understand.  How can your blood pressure and cholesterol be way lower than mine?

It’s a valid question.  Got a family member who I don’t get how her cholesterol is so low.  The thing is, cholesterol isn’t just affected by eating, but also by what you eat.  If you gorge on certain foods to absurd excess, you are still can be fat, but it can be not nearly as bad for you.

Are you sure you wanna wear a bikini?

Also a valid question.  There are some women that I imagine in a bikini and I’m legitimately freaked out by.

You get cat-called?

Part of me thinks that they trolled the YouTube comments sections for some of these.

Some people are fit and they prioritize their health.  But some people don’t, and you aren’t, and that’s okay.

I don’t even get where the problem here is.  This person has told you that they accept how you live your life, but imply that they don’t respect it.  I would be much the same.  I have obese family members.  I still care for them, but I don’t respect how they live.  If this sort of statement bugs you this much, then clearly you are covering for some DEEP insecurities.

Do you even know what vegetables are?

Jerks exist.

Are you pregnant?

Suddenly thinking about the line in that movie with Hugh Grant.  What was it?  Two Weeks Notice, I think.  Yeah, it’s rude to assume.  That’s on them.

You know, if you were stranded for six months, you would survive because you have enough fat to feed on.

Assuming that you had access to water, shelter and some basic nutritional items to keep you from falling apart (like nuts and berries), yeah.  You are much more likely to survive if you have fat stores.  That’s why fat exists.  We are supposed to burn it as fuel.

I would kill myself if I got fat.  I mean, no offense, I don’t think you should, but it would ruin my life.

Hate to break it to ya, honey, but it is ruining your life.  Being obese is destroying your body.  That’s a biological fact.

Thunder thighs!

Jerks exist.

If you lost a bit more weight, you’d be hot.

Might be true.  Try it and find out.

Put some clothes on, you busted-open can of biscuits.

Jerks exist.  Not apologizing for them.  That is rude.

Would he love you more if you lost weight?

Probably not.  Clearly he cares about you for who you are.  Hence why he’s with you.

I would date you if you weren’t fat.  You’re a very pretty girl.

All the tact of a freight train, but yeah.  Being fat means that less people are attracted to you.  Complain all you will, but I guarantee that you don’t want every man or woman that you see.

You’re the model?

Zero context.  How did this line come up?  Were they wanting some super-skinny woman for a modeling shoot and they sent you?  Did you show up for a shoot expecting them to want you?  Without some kind of context, I can’t respond to this in a reasonable way.

If you want to be successful in your career, you have to lose weight.

Hard truth moment – yeah.  It is infinitely easier to get ahead, especially in the corporate world, if you’re pretty to look at.  Life is a beauty pageant.  An unfair, unrelenting beauty pageant.  Those who look good are clearly at a better place than those who do not.  I work for the state, so I got lucky.  I’m in a profession that is pretty chill.  However, in the dog-eat-dog world that is corporate America, being attractive is a boon.  Sorry if the truth hurts.  Not really.  It’s time somebody told you.

And that is the end of that list.  Were some of those comments rude?  Absolutely.  No question.  I don’t apologize for rude people.  But they exist, and you have to deal with that.  Make peace with it as best you can.  Otherwise, you are in for one rude awakening after another.

Until next time, a quote,

“Life isn’t fair.  It never will be.  Quit trying to make it fair.  You don’t need it to be fair.  Go make life unfair to your advantages.” – Robert Kiyosaki

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

