The “You’re No Better” Argument

If you are like me and have a very negative viewpoint of SJWs and third-wave feminism, then you have probably heard something to the effect of “you’re no better than the people you make fun of” or “your side is just as guilty” to begin a counterargument against what you have to say.  I have heard it more times than I can count, and I find this argument more than a little annoying.  It is a blatant dodge to avoid having to answer your own point, but the thing that bugs me more is when they make the argument about me personally.  It’s one thing when it’s people who tend to think as I do, but it’s something else when they accuse me of it as an individual (situation).

It is impossible to argue against the idea that there are anti-SJWs who live in just as much of an echo chamber as those who are in the SJW camp.  There are so many channels on YouTube dedicated to nothing but a giant circlejerk on both sides.  That’s an objective fact, and I won’t go disputing it.  To do would be dishonest, and mama didn’t raise no hypocrite.  However, saying that our entire movement is just as much of a circlejerk as those we oppose is simply dishonest.

My favorite content creators on YouTube have shown that they will talk to all kinds.  TJ and the members of The Drunken Peasants have shown that they virulently disagree with Milo Yiannopoulos on all kinds of issues, but they were willing to sit down and have a very heated but still civil debate with him on their show.  It is one of their most popular episodes, and I really liked how Milo and Paul could get so animated against one-another and still be able to come together and be civil at the end of it.  That’s how I have always tried to view things.  The Bible Reloaded has done everything they can to avoid both sides of the SJW debate, but their audience has seen fit to allocate them into one circle or another, based solely on who they did a video with or who they talked to.  It’s frustrating how those outside of the content creators (or at least the most vocal of them) tend to just go off the rails the moment one group of people talks to another.  It happens on both sides.

Which brings this back to me personally.  When I am told that I am just as bad as the SJWs that I criticize, I can’t help but be amused.  Why?  Because the simple reality is that that is the farthest from the truth.  I could sit down with Anita Sarkeesian and have a very civil debate with her on her talking points.  I think she’s a con artist, but that wouldn’t stop me from being a good journalist in that instance and being willing to talk to her.  No joke, the opportunity to do so would be the most amazing experience I could ask for.  Being the person to look at Anita’s human side (if such a thing exists).  I could sit down with Steve Shives and debate his points of view.  Some people are shocked, but aside from the SJW stuff, I think that Milo and Lauren Southern are full of shit.  I dislike almost all of their major talking points outside of the parts we agree on.  But I could sit down with either of those people and have a very lively debate about our perspectives on things and walk away feeling both challenged and energized.

Are there those who are just as bad as the other side?  Obviously.  When some of the people I agree with take shit from their audience about their points of view, it’s hard to deny it.  But this is NOT indicative of myself or the movement as a whole.  Keep that in mind.  Some of us like to see opposing points of view.  I follow conservative and liberal people, and that’s fine.  I have friends on both sides of the aisle.  Not all of us want to have our points of view sucked off by our contemporaries.  We just want to talk.

Until next time, a quote,

“It’s always the same with these bogus equivalences: They start by pretending loftily to find no difference between aggressor and victim, and they end up by saying that it’s the victim of violence who is ‘really’ inciting it.” – Christopher Hitchens

Peace out,

Maverick

One thought on “The “You’re No Better” Argument

Leave a Reply

