RAB: I Don’t Care About the NX

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you…Nintendo’s last foray into console gaming.  The console code-named NX.  A console that will be releasing in March.  What does this console look like?  What are its specs?  What is the list of games that are going to be released with this new console?  I’d tell you, if I knew.  If anyone knew.  The only, and I do mean ONLY, game we have confirmed is coming out on this new console is a new Legend of Zelda game.  One that has been given SO much more credit than it’s due.  The first open-world Legend of Zelda game?  Really?  So what was Wind Waker?  Shits and giggles?  The open world areas of ALL of the Zelda games?  What are those?  I daresay, it’s like this latest game is being sold on a premise that is complete bullshit, to cover the fact that this is yet-another Zelda game that is exactly the same as the others.  Exactly the same.

We have learned one thing about the latest console that is coming out – it will have cartridge-based games.  This tells me one thing – this latest console isn’t trying to get third-party games.  Why would companies invest in something really expensive for a console that we know isn’t trying to compete with Sony and Microsoft?  They’ve said as much.  Their latest console will have specs just a little better than the PS3 and Xbox 360.  So that rules out third-party support.  I guess Nintendo will have to just coast on its first-party games.  And what will those be?  What have we heard?  Well, we know Legend of Zelda.  Okay.  There’s a new idea.  A new Mario game, perhaps?  We won’t be getting a new Star Fox game.  They tried that.  It was a giant pile of shit.  New Metroid?  Yeah, that just happened.  It ditched everything about the franchise that made it good.  Like Samus.  It ditched her.  The latest Metroid game doesn’t even have her in it.  What amazing things is Nintendo planning on doing with this latest console that is coming out?

The cruel reality is that Nintendo isn’t doing anything.  Nothing of notice.  It’s just going to be doing the same shit that they have done for 30 years.  Making the same game, over and over and over again.  Nothing changes.  Literally, nothing.  This company has been skating on brand recognition for so long.  I don’t get why people are so forgiving of this.  Look at the other companies who get accused of this, and how people view them.  Companies like Activision, EA, or Ubisoft.  All three are incredibly-maligned.  With each new Call of Duty game, Activision keeps digging its own grave.  Hell, now they are making Call of Duty: IN SPACE!  That’s how sad this company has gotten.  But those games sell like fucking hotcakes too.  What is wrong with those who buy games?  I can’t stand this mentality of people who can buy the same shit over and over again.  I at least make sure that what I’m getting is worth my time.  I loves me the Final Fantasy franchise, but I didn’t buy any of XIII’s god-awful sequels.  I will never understand how people can possibly be this forgiving.

In short, I don’t care about Nintendo’s latest console.  As far as I can see, unless they come out swinging in the biggest way possible, this is going to be their last console.  I honestly think that’s for the best.  This company stopped being innovative and now just skates by on brand loyalty.  It’s the same damn games, over and over!  People make no god-damn sense to me…

Until next time, a quote,

“Are we gonna stand for this?!  We’re gonna let them do this to us?  No, I say!  No!  We’re not gonna eat this dreck anymore!  We want something else!” – Hawkeye Pierce, M*A*S*H

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

