What it Takes to be a “Good Atheist” (A response to Kirk Cameron)

Ah, Kirk.  I haven’t had a laugh at your expense since that time that I made fun of your Christmas movie.  Did a review of that.  It was terrible.  It was the most boring 70 minutes of my life.  Couldn’t even laugh at that movie’s expense.  It was just bad.  Now our old buddy has another film coming out that he is promoting.  And he’s doing this by making a video where he is going to tell us what atheists have to believe in order to be “good.”  Oh, I’m sure that this won’t be the biggest strawman.  Nope, not at all.  I’ll share the video with all of you, and then we can talk about it.

Can we all just marvel at the title of this movie.  Unstoppable is NOT a word that I would associate with Kirk Cameron.  His last movie was stopped dead in its tracks by Rotten Tomatoes.  He had to do some vote-rigging, and the film still has a rating of 0%.  So this title is horribly inefficient.

Kirky comes right and says that he is a “recovering atheist.”  Yeah, because atheism is like alcoholism.  Once you find religion, you have to “recover.”  It’s statements like these that make me think that Kirk is full of shit.  Why?  Because no atheist talks like this.  None.  He says that there are two things that you must “cling to” if you are to be considered an atheist.  Apparently these things are matters of faith.  Let’s talk about each one.  This should be good.

There is no god

Why, it’s Strawman Atheist!  Hi there, old buddy!  I’ve missed you.  Kirk says that these things he is listing is what is required to be a “good atheist.”  Do you see why I think he’s full of shit.  Atheism makes no claim on the existence of God, Kirk.  Atheism means that you do not believe that god exists.  I have no way of proving one way or the other.  I merely have taken in the information from other religions and have come to the conclusion that God is a fairytale.  Your God, anyway.  Along with every God/gods I have heard about from other religions.  No religion has given me a reason to believe that a divine being exists.

There are atheists who say that God does not exist, but the large portion of us simply do not believe that god exists based on the evidence that you have given us.  It really is that simple.  Did Ray Comfort give you this talking point before you made this video?  It feels like that is your source for this information, given that you and him have been together an eerie amount over the years.

I hate him!

Wow, Strawman Atheist!  I didn’t know that you and Kirk Cameron were friends!  I don’t hate God.  I hate many of the religions associated with divine beings.  But hating something requires you to believe that it exists.  I don’t.  Time was, before my faith disappeared, I had a lot of anger towards God.  I was suffering in the hospital and life was Hell.  But I got out of that and moved forward.  Now, I feel nothing toward an entity that I don’t believe I exists.  I do, however, feel more than a little anger toward some of the horrible things that I have seen done lately in the name of various religions.  One in-particular comes to mind.  I’ll give you a hint – they’ve been fucking up Europe for months, and they shot up a nightclub in Florida not long ago.

This idea that all of us atheists just hate this entity that we don’t believe exists is silly.  I get why you think this way.  When you see the negative things we post about religion, it’s easy to just assume that we have a problem with the entity you worship, rather than your religion.  After all, if you see it as us being angry at your religion, you assume that we hate you.  No one wants to feel hated, and atheists have said many times that they don’t hate religious people as a whole.  But you can’t differentiate those two things in your head, so here we are.

He goes on to validate my beliefs about where he was coming from when he asks why people hate God anyway.  You just can’t understand.  You’re not smart enough, Kirk.  We then get more Strawman Atheist points of view when he says that we don’t want people talking about religion in public or having it in the schools.  These points have been debunked over and over and over again.  But I’ll do it once again.  I could give two fucks if you worship god, or if you want to pray about it when you are at school.  It’s just that I don’t want religion being led by teachers.  There was a bible study group in the school I went to.  There was also one in the college.  They were just extra-curricular activities.  That’s fine with me.  It’s when you start mandating that the bible be taught in schools that get their budget from public money that I take umbrage.

Now he has two reasons why us mean ol’ atheists want to shut him down.  Let’s have some fun with this.

1. They hate his moral standard

We’re talking about your god, right?  The one who says that unruly children should be stoned to death?  The one who says that gay men should be stoned to death?  The one who says that if you rape a girl, you should pay the father 15 silver shekels and marry her?  The one who says that murder is okay, so long as you are doing it in God’s name?  No joke, there are so many stories where God commands the armies serving him to commit genocide.  Like when he tells his army to slash open the bellies of pregnant women and dash the heads of babies against rocks.  His moral standard?  Oh, and don’t tell me that Jesus negates all that.  Jesus said that he did not come to abolish the law of the Old Testament.  He came to fulfill it.  So there’s that.

2. They hate the way he’s transforming the world

We still talking about your god?  Because that’s a weird thing to say.  Christianity is on the downgrade faster than any other religion.  There’s an argument to be made that I’m not a fan of the effect that Islam is having in the world.  Just look at the Middle East.  Look at the territories that ISIS controls.  In those places, women can be taken and sold into sexual slavery.  If a Kurdish woman who has been fighting them is taken captive, it’s understood that she will likely be raped and murdered.  Yeah, I got a real problem with the effect that element of Islam is having on the world.

These perspectives are all dumb as dirt.  It makes no fucking sense.  He says that we have a problem with God even in “the midst of tragedy and suffering.”  Like when Islamic radical plowed a car into people in Nice and then jumped out and started shooting more people?  Is that something we should credit God for?  Maybe the people in that airport in Brussels who were blown up by bombs?  How about that?  Oh, maybe we can talk about God in respect to tragedy and suffering in respect to the people who were shot and killed in the Pulse nightclub.  How about that?  If you are going to say that God has an effect on the world even then, then you are basically saying that God has a hand in this.  And that’s fucking sick.  That’s morally reprehensible.  But when you look at the things that your God has done in the Bible, and all the amoral genocide he’s committed, it starts to make sense.

The video ends with us seeing a promotion for his movie.  Great, another Kirk Cameron movie that I guarantee will suck.  Will do a review, if someone sends it my way.  Something to think about, my loyal audience.

Until next time, a quote,

“But in the bullshit department, a businessman can’t hold a candle to a clergyman.” – George Carlin

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

