I Hate how “Leftist” is a Catch-All Term

The first time I ever heard the name Milo Yiannopoulos is during the GamerGate battles in the gaming community.  He was a guy who was very open about not being a gamer.  But he found this battle against corrupt journalism and the SJW forces that were part of it interesting enough to get involved.  It helped get a lot of respectable credibility to the battle due to Milo being a smart guy and an eloquent speaker.  During those days, it was fun to see his latest post.  But those days are gone.  While some remnant of GamerGate still exists, it’s now just a term for a time when us gamers stood up and fought for our hobby.

The thing I’m left with is how there are now SO many people who I used to like on YouTube that I honestly can’t stand anymore due to how they are basically just as bad as the people they criticize in how they will ignore nuance and judge people harshly right out of the game.  Milo is a part of this.  I still follow him on Twitter.  I do like to have a varied perspective.  But the truth is that outside of GamerGate, I know for a fact that him and I would agree on very little, and him and his ilk’s use of the term “Leftist” is just as annoying as how SJWs are eager to call everyone who doesn’t agree with them conservative.

I consider myself a liberal.  Shocker, I know.  I don’t consider myself part of the regressive left.  But I still am a person who has liberal sensibilities, along with a few libertarian ones.  I took a political quiz, and it seems I’m part of the Libertarian Left.  See for yourself.

PoliticalSo, does this make me a “Leftist” now?  I’m not some crazy SJW.  Is that what it takes?  What does it take in order to be a Leftist?  Because there are SO many talking heads who use this line, I honestly can’t find where the line is.  One of you come in and tell me.  Because this is all so confusing.

As I said, I’m a liberal.  I make no secret that I am for universal health care.  There’s no reason why this country shouldn’t have it.  At least none that I’ve heard.  Got a girly-mate who works in a billing agency for doctor’s offices, and she has told me many times that single-payer would make her job so much easier, and save so many offices money.  Oh, right, that’s “anecdotal evidence.”  God forbid someone in the industry might know a thing or two.  I worked medical records for a while.  Let me tell you, if there had been single payer, my job would have been easier too.  More anecdotes!  Whatever will we do!  So many insurance companies I had to send records to.  Annoying.

We live in this weird world right now.  We have people who should hate one-another standing together to fight a common enemy – SJWs.  The battle against SJWs and third-wave feminism is bitter and it has made enemies put aside their differences for a higher goal.  However, I am starting to realize that, when that goes away, we’re still going to be enemies.  I will never agree with Milo’s politics, and I will find his continued use of the term “Leftist” to describe anyone on the left annoying.  Once all is said and done, I figure most of the hard-right people I have made and agreed with will go back to being people I argue with on a daily basis and who tell me that I am some dumb liberal.

I follow Milo’s Twitter page because, unlike our SJW friends, I like seeing an opinion that doesn’t agree with me.  I don’t live in an echo chamber.  If your views aren’t challenged, then what’s the point of having discourse?  However, I just can’t help but think that all of this “Leftist” terminology is becoming just as overused as “regressive” or the one that is the most overused anti-SJW term of all – cuck.  I cannot tell you how dumb I find this term.  For starters, it makes no sense in the context of how they use it.  The term “beta” is more fitting for the kind of men that these people are talking about.  But anytime there’s someone on the left who doesn’t agree with these people, I guarantee that they’ll have their audience coming in and calling that person a cuck quite roundly.  This term really needs to go.

So what was the point of all this?  I guess it’s just a little rambling post.  Not much more.  I’m sure I’ll get some delightful people in the Comments to share with me their belief in how, because I actually think a lot of Milo’s positions are complete bullshit, I’m a regressive or a Leftist.  That’s fine.  As I said, a common enemy helps bring people together.  We’ll see where things end up.  Do with that what you will.

Until next time, a quote,

“I’m a firm believer in the idea that this world would not be very interesting if we all thought and felt the same.”  – TJ Kirk

Peace out,

Maverick

3 thoughts on “I Hate how “Leftist” is a Catch-All Term

  1. Is it not a case of there are idiots on both sides of the left right divide and as always ‘the scum always rises to the top’ meaning they will become the face of said “party” for the other team. For right wingers the face of the left is a militant sjw and they will take it as read that the left is pretty much the same while they know that they are both right, nuanced and far superior. Likewise us on the left do the same.
    I only say this due to the “fairly” recent bit with Neil Degrasse Tyson on Bill Mahers show where Bill was taking the right-wing to court on how badly they treat science before Neil stepped in and pointed out that the left could be just as bad if not worse in certain cases. I think increasingly left and right is becoming as useful to group people in as the term atheist.

    • I saw that. And I could also see that Neil wanted to bring up some of the things about the beliefs about gender and how it isn’t a matter of genetics or biology. He was hinting at it, but Maher took it to vaccines and stuff. I wish Neil had gone there.

      • While I would have liked to have seen that addressed too I’m glad we got gm foods and anti vaccine stuff more as while gender fluid snowflakes are annoying I would class the stuff he picked up on far more damaging.
        Plus I don’t know Mahers stance on stuff like gender but I am vaguely aware that he is in the group that doubts vaccines and so it made more of an impact for Tyson to be able to call out the host on his own show for idiocy.

Leave a Reply

