Bad PR 108: Jenny McDermott Vs. The Amazing Atheist

I’m trying to wrap my head around what kind of mindset would lead a person to do what this idiot is doing.  I’m trying to understand how a person could believe that going this route was a good idea.  The level of asinine decision that got people here is just baffling.  From a PR standpoint, this is insane.  Reminds me of an old boss I had.  In fact, I think that’s how I can correlate this story.  It fits perfectly.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.

In a video that TJ made (linked here), it seems that our spiteful harpy is back.  This time, she is mad about the fact that TJ had a brief mention of her in his video ripping Steve Shives to pieces.  She hasn’t taken this well.  And seeing her chance to get some more e-fame out of this, she took to Twitter to talk about how hard she is going to go after TJ and his channel.  What TJ showed is one of the most bonkers, outright stupid things I’ve ever seen in my life.  Her outright threatening his channel in such a public way is the stupidest thing in the world.  Why?  Because, if she is actually dumb enough to do it, TJ has said that he has the money for a lawyer, and he has no compunction about going after her.  This is while we don’t know what happened between Jenny and Armoured Skeptic.  It makes sense that we haven’t heard about that.  Any lawyer would tell you not to talk about any litigation you’re involved in.

The thing I’m trying to understand is this – why do this?  Why do something that has a 100% chance of destruction?  It reminds me of something an old boss did.  I won’t say who this is or what the company was.  I will say that it was a PR company.  I got to learn about bad PR from a person who is supposed to sell the good kind.  Here goes.

I was hired on with this company, and it looked like a great opportunity.  Then I found out that the boss I had was a crazy person (and the company was shifty as fuck, but that’s a whole other thing).  See, she had a falling out with another company she had worked with.  It was one that I had been involved with, along with a few others.  So, she felt the need to tell us about this drama as it was unfolding.  After their falling out, this woman wanted to pursue legal action.  Following the sending of some very unpleasant emails, the company decided to send one to her.  How do I know?  Because it got CC-ed to every single one of the major staff, along with her reply.  What followed in that reply was one of the most juvenile, PR disasters I have gotten to witness.  It was unprofessional.  It was ill-tempered.  It was snarky.  It basically took an opportunity to walk away that the other company was giving her and throwing it in their face.  Oh, and to make it better, she closes out her email response with a winky-face emoji.  I was baffled.  This was the straw that broke the camel’s back and told me to get as far away from this company as I could.  What followed when I left was a whole other deal, but I won’t get into that.

What you need to keep in mind is this – this woman made a decision that was out of spite, all to get the last word and insult someone who she felt had slighted her.  It was every bad decision, and I know for a fact that that crazy bitch is stupid enough to go after them.  I hope that this other company took her and her half-baked PR company to the cleaners.  Groj knows, she deserves it.

Did you all catch what this person was like?  Spiteful, quick to offense, not able to see the writing on the wall, and destined for destruction.  Sound familiar?  Jenny McDermott is digging her own grave with these sorts of things, and it makes no sense.  In order to stir the drama-pot and get whatever e-fame she can.  I don’t get this.  Why do this?  What’s in it for you?  If you actually do hurt TJ’s channel, he has the means to destroy you, and he will.  It’s not potential destruction.  It’s guaranteed.  Why do this?  I legit do not understand.  But then, I didn’t get it with that other chick either.  I only see this behavior in women.  Must be some part of the female psyche that I will never understand.

The PR message here is – think before you act!  This shouldn’t be that difficult, but I guess it is.  And if you are going to make a big decision based on butthurt, then you are stupid beyond the pale.

Until next time, a quote,

“Nothing surpasses the beauty and elegance of a bad idea.”  – Craig Bruce

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

