SIONR: Who Cares About the Same-Sex Couple in Finding Dory?

Not me.  That’s the short version.  For those of you who want the TL;DR version, there it is.  I don’t care.  Not one fucking bit.  For those who want to follow me through a nerd rant, I will elaborate.  You know what the first, last, and only major concern for me is with a movie – is it good or not?  That’s it.  That’s the biggest thing that I care about.  As it should be.  But I guess that that’s not enough for the social justice community who has to get their panties in a bunch every fucking time a new things comes out.  They want something more.

For those who live under a rock or something and got to miss the #GiveElsaAGirlfriend or #GiveCaptainAmericaABoyfriend retardedness, the social justice crowd is trying to put their lazy-ass clicktivism to work and get Disney and Marvel to change things in their movies by virtue of them wanting it.  Then you look at the mass attempts to make the new Ghostbusters trailers look like anything other than crap.  A line that, by the way, even they don’t believe.  It’s so obvious in these articles that they are just praying that the film doesn’t live down to their expectations.  That line still peeks out at me – please be good.  Please just be passably good.

It seems like our lovable SJWs are doing everything they can to try and force culture to give them what they want.  Quality of the product be damned!  Just give Elsa a girlfriend!  So, when I hear the social justice crowd squeeing with their adolescent (in mind, if not in body) delight about the sequel to Finding Nemo potentially having a same-sex couple, it tells me that these people are again following the same path.

Now, here’s where I interrupt to make a point.  Do I think that Finding Dory will be bad?  Honestly, I don’t know.  Here’s the thing – Pixar has REALLY gone downhill the last few years.  Their films have been getting perpetually less creative as time goes by.  Ever since Brave, their quality keeps dropping.  When they made Cars 2, I was pretty much done with them.  They can only fail from here.  The talent has obviously left.  Not to mention, I’m getting bored of 3D animation anyway.  How I long for the days when animation was dedicated people putting pen to paper and making great works that you can feel the effort.  Not some digital creation where you know that a mathematical algorithm told them how to make glass shatter believably or snow fall and look real.  This movie could be just as good as the original.  I don’t think it will be, but hey, I’m willing to give it a chance.  I’ll Netflix it when it comes out.

But how many of the social justice zombies who are cheering have thought about this as much as me?  Probably few, if any at all.  Is it possible?  Sure.  Absolutely.  Maybe there are people who are stoked about seeing a same-sex couple in a Pixar film that actually want the movie to be good.  All of this is still beside the point.

What does it matter if there is a same-sex couple in a Pixar movie?  Why does it matter that they are in this movie?  What does any of this have to do with fucking anything?  What’s the belief here?  That if kids see a same-sex couple in a Pixar movie, it’s going to magically make them super awesome with that lifestyle?  Most young people these days already are.  There are numerous studies showing that the current generation is the most open and accepting that has ever been.  A little too much, given the attitudes of the Regressive Left, but that’s a whole other deal.

It does NOT matter if there is a same-sex couple in things.  It really doesn’t.  I grew up watching anime (back when anime was good.  Modern anime really sucks), playing video games, watching some of the best action, science fiction, horror, and fantasy movies ever made, along with a lot of Disney movies and whatever else, and I couldn’t care less what your orientation is.  Unless you’re a bigoted little shit like Milo Stewart.  But I digress.  There is nothing about these two potentially-romantic chicks in this movie that means anything.  Unless they are good characters.  But it’s humans.  How long are we going to get to know these people?  Five minutes?  If that?  This is a movie about fish.  So it’s going to stick with the fish world.  This feels like it might be pandering.  Just to virtue signal and get some social justice points.

And there’s nothing that bothers me more than when a film is looking to pander to an audience.  I can watch a movie that is in a genre that I don’t like, and still enjoy it for the quality of the work.  Hence why, even though I think the overrated factor is off the chart, I can admire the quality of Frozen.  I don’t like that movie, at all, but I acknowledge that it was well-made.  Except for that song that everyone was all over.  It was the worst one in the whole movie.  Can we please stop the pandering already and get back to making good movies.  Plenty of great works of fiction have characters from the LGBT community.  Look up The Wire if you’re ever of a mind to.

Until next time, a quote,

“Now, this is important because this kind of situation will lead to pandering.  And pandering will lead to insincerity.  And insincerity will lead to even more talent being snubbed.”  -PMRants

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

