Top 10 Gay/Lesbian/Bi Characters in Fiction

Alright, here goes.  I’ve decided that I am going to talk about my favorite LGB characters in fiction that I’ve consumed.  Here’s the part where I get to be judged by people over what kinds of characters in this genre that I like.  But you know what, I don’t care.  Some of you who have been following my website for a while might see some of these coming.  Good on you.  But there is a reason that I make sure to include bi – some of these characters are.  I’ll get into this when we get down the list, but these distinctions matter.  And you are going to notice something when I talk about these characters – the reasons that I like them have NOTHING to do with their sexuality and have everything to do with their character traits.  So suck on that, you people who will want to call me a perv.  Let’s get into what may be my most risque top ten to date.

Annabelle Tillman10. Annabelle Tillman
Loving Annabelle
Makes sense that one of my favorite films of all time would be on this list, right?  For those of you wondering why she is so low on the list, this isn’t looking at the film she’s in, but just her character.  Annabelle is a trouble-making daughter of a teenage senator, being forced to go to a Catholic school by her politician family as a way to get her out of the limelight.  At first, she appears to be a typical punk, but you quickly learn that there is more to her than meets the eye.  The girl has a very sensitive side, and bonds with people in odd ways.  Plus, when one of her friends assumes that she puts out like it’s no one’s business, the girl rebukes her.  Quite coldly.  The whole film is about her growing relationship with one of her teachers, but her character is good enough that you realize that the caricature that her peers have of her is dead wrong.

Kima Greggs9. Kima Greggs
The Wire
In a series that is all about the moral ambiguity of the people within it, Kima is one of those refreshing breaths of fresh air.  One of the detectives that is investigating Avon Barksdale’s operation, you grow to realize that she is a rookie detective who is looking to get further in the force.  She’s a by-the-books cop.  Even to the point of sometimes having to give her peers answers that they don’t like.  And when she gets things wrong, she does have moments where it eats at her.  My favorite moment with her was when she was shot in season one.  Bunk has a list of people that he was sure were the suspects, but she can’t bring herself to falsely identify anyone.  Up to the very end, she sticks by her convictions.  That’s not to say that she isn’t human, but still.  I like her dedication to her principles.  Especially on the force.

138. 13 (Remy Hadley)
House, M.D.
13 was a character who I missed when she left the show.  Granted, the series itself went on too long, but her character was just fantastic.  A talented young doctor who is eager to prove herself, she also harbors a dark secret.  One that, as always, House figures out very quickly.  Her mother died of a condition called Huntington’s.  The reality that she has a 50/50 chance of getting the condition is a constant pressure, and she is terrified of it.  The memories of her mother’s last months haunt her.  However, this drive is what makes her character so much fun to watch.  Plus, it also gives her some kinship with House, who is miserable and prone to self-destruction.  It was a shame when she left the series, but hey, the actress had better prospects.  Like that god-awful Tron sequel.  Sorry, that movie sucked.  I can’t deny it.

Ellie 27. Ellie
The Last of Us
Some of you might be wondering – what?!  Why is she so low on the list?  Well, I have learned a few things about the making of her character.  Specifically in connection to her orientation.  These things are causing me to reevaluate what I think of her. That being said, she is a fantastic kid character.  Not only is her dialogue great, but it feels like something someone that age would be like.  I won’t go into too much more detail.  I have already dissected this character in every way in a Critical Examination post.  Go look that up if you want to full details.  I do still love her character, but a little less than I once did.  Take that for what you will.

Franz d'Epinay6. Franz d’Epinay
Gankutsuou: The Count of Monte Cristo
One of the things that I love about this character is the fact that you have to pay attention to Franz to realize the truth about him.  He is Albert’s oldest and best friend.  But you see, Franz has a secret.  One that you have to pay good attention to in order to catch.  Part of the reason that he cares so much and has gone out of his way to be a good friend to Albert is because he is in love with him.  The subtlety with how they portray that is amazing.  The hardest part is – Albert never finds out.  Ever.  Because he is so loyal a friend, when Albert makes a rash decision and challenges the Count to a duel, Franz drugs him and takes his place.  The Count runs him through.  When Albert finally finds him, he dies in his arms.  Even then, at the very end, he never told Albert the truth.  Because he never wanted to burden his best friend with his feelings.  He loved in silence, and died defending that person.  Tragic, beautiful, and part of a nigh-perfect show.

Luna Lovegood5. Luna Lovegood
Harry Potter (books, not film.  The film version of her SUCKED!)
I did a post talking about the top 10 gay characters you never knew were gay, and this is an extension of that.  I was able to deduce the truth about Luna from studying her character after several re-reads of the series that I did when I was bored to tears one summer at my job at the library of my university.  I had nothing but time, so I read those books over and over again.  Go check out my other post to realize why I learned the truth about Luna.  But the reason I love her character so much is because she isn’t like the other people at Hogwarts.  The girl might dance to the beat of her own tune, but she has a very perceptive and intelligent mind that learns quickly and can be very skilled on the fly.  The films did so much damage to this character, so we’re just looking at the books.  She’s probably the most interesting character in those books, if we’re being honest.  But that’s just me.

Adele4. Adele
Blue is the Warmest Color
When I did my review of this movie, I said that it was one of the best coming-of-age stories I have ever seen.  Not only does it take a critical look at sexuality, but it also talks about relationships, loyalty, and being uncertain of yourself.  Adele’s story is a sad one.  She doesn’t know who she is or where she belongs.  She goes from having a brief time of happiness, to absolute unhappiness.  Eventually, when the life she built with her first love falls apart, she wanders through life like a lost puppy.  I get where she’s coming from.  The questions about love, life, and sexuality that she has are more ubiquitous to all orientations than you’d think.  The thing that really gets me is that there is no catharsis in her ending.  She just walks away and you never know if she finds what she’s looking for.  True to life, and depressing.  What’s not to like?

Oberyn Martell3. Oberyn Martell
Game of Thrones
It really is a shame that this guy is dead.  A total and complete shame.  Oberyn is so fucking awesome.  This guy lives his life with a general attitude that he has zero fucks to give.  He just wants to drink, fuck, rinse, lather, repeat.  At first, he seems like someone who couldn’t possibly care less about anything.  However, dark forces are driving this man.  A need for revenge that brought him to King’s Landing.  In the end, his need for revenge is the reason that he died.  When he could have just taken his victory and accepted it, he had to drag it out.  His death was caused because he couldn’t let the vengeance go.  But for the time that we get to know him, he is too much fun.  It’s a pity it was only for the bulk of one season.  RIP, Red Viper of Dorne

Life Is Strange™_201512022007132. Chloe Price
Life is Strange
For those of you wondering why Max isn’t on the list, it’s because the bulk of her character development in the game is something you control with your choices.  So yeah, that doesn’t count.  I’m looking for characters whose traits are established parts of their characters.  And Chloe has that.  She’s a punk in every sense of the word, but the thing that keeps her from driving into the realm of cliche is the fact that you realize what got her where she is.  The loss of her father did a number on her.  When you go back in time, you see how close the two of them were.  I can’t imagine when you have a parent who is your world, and they die.  That sound so awful.  Especially since she was 12 when it happened.  Going through your teenage years having that pain driving you.  It’s got to be hard.  When Max comes back into her life, the relationship starts out rocky.  But the two eventually find their bond again.  And you can have her become one of the best friends you’ve ever had.  Or a lover who (because the ending to this game is retarded on Mass Effect 3 levels) you get so little time to express that with.

My favorite gay character in fiction is one that some of you will see coming from a mile away.

Omar Little1. Omar Little
The Wire
What’s not to love about this guy?!  He’s every awesome character trait I want in a badass.  He’s a smooth-talker.  He’s a fast, skilled shot.  He robs drug dealers and is the most wanted man by the criminals in Baltimore.  When you hurt his people, he brings on the vengeance.  The man is a typical outlaw from the mentality of the wild west.  I did a Character Analysis for him, which I encourage you check out at the top of the page.  His character lives and dies by the gun.  Not just my favorite gay character, but one of my favorite characters, period.  This guy has got it all.  It’s just a shame that he goes down the way he does.

What about you?  Tell me your personal picks in the Comments.

Until next time, a quote,

“Hey yo – when you come at the king, you best not miss.”  – Omar Little, The Wire

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

