SIONR: I’m Getting Tired of Superhero Movies

Did you know that there are currently 36 superhero projects in the works?  Not even kidding, 36.  That’s fucking crazy.  And I am going to put this out there – I’m getting tired of it.  After Avengers, the novelty of the Marvel Cinematic Universe is starting to wear off.  I think the problem is that these films are being made too often.  I barely get a chance to appreciate something being unique and interesting before something else comes along.  What’s more, the formula is getting old.  There are only so many times that I can watch the hero save the day and not be bored by it.  Sure, it’s supposed to be about what gets you there, but the problem is that I am tired of it.  I don’t get other people aren’t too.

Let me put this in context.  Some of you might be wondering how I have this opinion, given how I enjoyed Guardians of the Galaxy.  In hindsight, I was a little overly-nice to that film.  I was just too captivated by the cool soundtrack and the comedic take on the superhero genre.  But the reality is that take that away, and that film is as by-the-numbers as it gets.  How has this formula not gotten stale with people?

Then there was Deadpool.  A film that was completely non-serious, gruesome, funny, and filled with self-aware riffing on its own genre.  That is one of my favorite superhero films, to date, and will likely stay there for a long time.  Was it predictable?  Sure, but the thing that made it stand apart is the fact that it took its own premise to the absolute extreme.  20th Century Fox was certain that film was going to bomb, but they ordered a sequel almost immediately because this film was such a smash success.  It broke all kinds of records, and I am glad to hear they got the same director for the sequel.  Given how much fun Ryan Reynolds had with the role, I am hoping that he is just as much in love with the next film.  It will have Cable in it, so I can only see good things ahead.

A couple years back, I did a review of Captain America: The Winter Soldier.  That is also one of my favorite superhero films.  Not only was the action slick as fuck (I could watch the first fight scene between Cap and the titular villain over and over.  It is awesome), but it took on some much darker themes.  Things like how the Cap was dealing with being out of time.  How he was very much alone in this world, and kept busy with SHIELD so he didn’t have to think about it.  He acknowledged that outside of military service, he has no place in the world.  What’s more, even though the hero wins in the end, it’s a bittersweet ending.  Cap still is very much alone, since his friend saved his life, only to abandon him.  I loved that!  You can’t believe how stoked I am to see the latest film Civil War.  Just like the last film, this isn’t so much a superhero film as a political film with superheroes.  Now we get to see sides who have gotten along so well fighting it out.  New characters are being introduced.  Add some amazing fight scenes, I can’t wait to see what’s coming.

All I want is some superhero films to buck the trend.  Give me a movie that brings something new.  How’s about, instead of releasing a ton of yearly films, we release a film or two every couple years.  Let’s take the time to really make quality movies.  Disney is too much of a cookie-cutter company to have the balls that 20th Century Fox did.  They took a huge risk with Deadpool, and it showed in the film’s meager budget.  I love that joke that Reynolds made in the film where he acknowledged that there were only two X-Men, commenting that it’s almost like the film had no budget or something.  Fucking classic.  Disney will never have those kinds of guts.

I lament the death of some of the more violent superhero films.  There will never be another Punisher film like the one in 2005 starring Thomas Jane.  I love that he was in a fan-film sequel to that movie that was done by the same person who directed the criminally-underrated film Dredd.  Check it out (link here).  Oh, there’s another film which will never have a sequel, and that kills me.  Dredd was awesome.  Then there was the original Blade.  Just the original.  The sequels were garbage.  Or The Crow.  The original there too.  Did you know they are doing a remake of that?  Yeah, because let’s spit on Brandon Lee’s memory.  Fucking pricks in Hollywood.

The reality is that Disney buying Marvel was cool for a while.  Now it’s gotten boring, and all because they have to be family-friendly.  How I wish that we could get a Deadpool caliber film with other comic book characters.  Like Wolverine!  Or Gambit!  Specifically Gambit.  I heard that a film about him was cancelled.  Much shame.  That could have been as equally-violent and awesome.  Or maybe a film based around Spider-Man’s nemesis, Venom.  A Venom movie, where we get to see him as a violent anti-hero who does good things for all the wrong reasons.

Let me know what you all think in the comments.  Am I just being pretentious, or are you all as tired of how predictable these films are too?

Until next time, a quote,

“America is the first culture in jeopardy of amusing itself to death.”  – John Piper

Peace out,

Maverick

11 thoughts on “SIONR: I’m Getting Tired of Superhero Movies

  1. Really? Really?????? FOX takes risk? Let me tell you something about Deadpool: The only reason this movie was ever made was because Ryan Reynolds kept pushing for it for more than ten years! One of the reasons why they had constantly comment on there not being more X-men (or anything) in the movie was because Fox slashed the budget. Many of the people working on Deadpool agreed to pay-cuts in order for this being made. Fox deserves zero credit for this (nor for the way they treated the other properties in their hand).

    The only company around which DOES take risk and keeps reinventing the genre by mixing it with other genres is Marvel studios. Who, btw, are mostly able to work free from Disney interference because as a general rule Disney doesn’t care what their subsidiaries do as long as they rake in money and don’t damage the image. Sure, Marvel studios will never release an R-rated movie…but that wasn’t on the table before Disney was in the picture either. That is simply not what the Avengers are (nor should be). If you want violence, you can get that from the MCU too…you just need to watch the Netflix shows. In which the Punisher works way better than he EVER did on screen.

    • Much butthurt. So, it’s cool with you that MCU films are becoming boring. Whatever floats your boat, I guess. And yeah, Netflix Punisher can suck Thomas Jane’s cock.

      • Again, really? You can like whatever you like. But perhaps you should do you research next time before you start praising a studio for something they actually blocked for years.

      • Where did I praise 20th Century Fox, oh presumptious one? I said that they expected Deadpool to bomb. That’s why they released it in February. The whole reason they ordered a sequel is because the film blew their expectations away. Here’s an idea – how about you read what I write closer next time. It makes your points much nicer to read.

      • By the way, oh enlightened one of great caliber, do you not know what my SION posts are? They are off the cuff nerd-rants. I don’t do research for those. I just rant my thoughts. Pay attention to the kind of works I write. You’d be amazed what it can do.

      • “Disney is too much of a cookie-cutter company to have the balls that 20th Century Fox did. They took a huge risk with Deadpool,…”.
        No, they didn’t. They dragged their feet for years and then throw the smallest budget possible at it. That is not taking a risk, especially not since the one reason fox made it was because the test footage “leaked” and the fans said “we want”. It’s doing what the fans demand by investing as little as possible in the project.

      • Yeah, because they expected it to fail. I love how butthurt you’re getting about this. 20th Century Fox invested in something with the expectation that it would fail. The film proved them wrong. That was the point I was making. Dense, much?

  2. Agreed. Deadpool was the only movie I’ve bothered to see, and I won’t pay any money for more crap films they keep releasing. As long as people buy that crap, they will keep making it.

    Figures the only one I liked is the one the studios almost canned

    • It’s not that there haven’t been other good ones. There have. But it’s just overkill at this point. Now the Marvel and DC fanboys are fighting about which genre disappoints them more. This needs to end.

Leave a comment