Lucien’s First Take: Star Wars: Rogue One Teaser

I’ve made no secret of how much I think the new Star Wars film is a bland movie that only gets the praise it gets because of the fact that the prequels sucked.  If the prequels hadn’t been so bad, that film wouldn’t nearly have the popularity that it does.  It would likely be regarded in the same way as Jurassic World.  A movie that is basically a complete rip-off of the original, with a fresh coat of paint.  Were it that I was capable of turning my brain off when I watch movies, I’m sure it’s a good popcorn flick.  Sadly, I can’t do that.  I am too busy over-analyzing.  Which brings me to the trailer for this new film.  When I heard they were doing a story about Rogue One, I was certain that it was going to suck.  After all, they’ve thrown out the Expanded Universe timeline, so how can they capture the beginning of Rogue Squadron?  Well, let’s see if it looks any good.

Alright, so we’ve got these cool sets.  That’s the first thing I notice.  That’s something I really love.  I hate to be one of the people who gets on it, but after how CG everything in the prequels was, sets are a great step up.  It also looks like the Rebels that I missed.  Something the new film butchered, because they had to have some stupid bullshit First Order, when the reality is that the Empire would not have just up and died because the Emperor did.  So much dumb.  But yeah, this feels more like a Star Wars movie just from the settings and the look.

Sure, there is also this TERRIBLE exposition-dump about who is going to be our main character.  Some female rebel.  With a lame joke about her being a rebel to boot.  But I guess this gives her some character traits.  Something Rey could have used a few of in the new film.  I don’t like this scene introducing her, but she’s alright as a character.  Bad exposition is what bothers me more.

Then they get back to show-casing the visual design of this movie, and I am very impressed again.  It feels like Star Wars!  The Empire is being all Imperial.  I kind of hope that we get to see some of the evil this group supposedly had.  That’s one thing that I will fault the original films for.  You never really saw the Empire being evil.  Sure, there was the Death Star, but that was kind of it.  Now, we get to see a much uglier side to the war against them.  It’s closer and more civilians are involved.  We get to see some people with hand-to-hand fighting skills.  Some fallen Jedi, maybe?  One can dream.  Who is Forrest Whitaker’s character supposed to be?  He’s cool and all, but I have no idea who he is.  We have some Imperial guy in black.  Any chance for a voice-over of the man himself?  I mean, they got James Earl Jones to do his voice in Star Wars: Rebels.  Let’s have a cameo, for old time’s sake.  That would be kinda awesome.  Just sayin’.

Overall, this looks pretty good.  Finally, I feel like I am about to watch a Star Wars movie!  This is definitely a step up from where we’ve been thus far.  Finally, I have a chance to get excited about something.  Since the plot is kind of in the dark about the details, it could go anywhere.  I mean, we know how the story ends, but I figure it’s the getting there that is where the fun is had.  Can’t wait.

Initial Verdict
8 out of 10

Peace out,

Maverick

2 thoughts on “Lucien’s First Take: Star Wars: Rogue One Teaser

    • This lead clearly has more personality than Rey. Not hard. Rey’s personality could best be described with a gutteral sound or something.

Leave a Reply

