SIONR: Playstation 4.5

We live in an age where people are more than willing to replace tech so quickly.  I don’t get this.  Nintendo barely lets their new console have any time in the light, and it’s being drawn to a close.  Now Sony is being rumored to be developing a new version of the PS4.  An upgraded one for all this 4K gaming that’s so popular on the PC.  At this point, it’s all but confirmed.  And this is bugging me in was that you cannot believe.

Why is it that a game company that just made a console is now making a new version?  By making this updated hardware, they are basically saying that they are making the console that everyone bought obsolete.  Did the not see the mixed reactions to what Nintendo is doing with their new console?  Did they simply not care?  Are we in an age where gaming is becoming more and more expensive, and I’m not gonna lie – I’m not a fan.  Why is it acceptable that a company can release a new console that makes another one outdated just a couple years after releasing the last one?  I don’t have the kind of money to make that kind of replacement!

A lot of people are saying that with PCs, you are having to upgrade.  But see, that isn’t true.  If you have a nice rig, you can game for quite some time without having to make major upgrades.  Or you can upgrade your hardware by making replacements. of graphics cards or upping your RAM (among other things).  A good gaming PC can last you five years, if you are like me and don’t buy every new game each year.  In other words, it’s pretty much like a console.

The reason that people like me like console gaming is because we are basically buying a promise that we won’t have to buy new hardware for about five-seven years.  That’s a pretty good thing.  However, that may be going away.  Now the gaming companies are deciding to get greedy.  Microsoft has already talked about doing this sort of thing, since the Xbox One is more underpowered than the PS4.  But I don’t have the money to be constantly replacing consoles.  If this is where the future of gaming is headed, I guess I’ll just invest in a good gaming PC.  I will miss the Playstation exclusives, since they are knocking it out of the park, but that’s what it is.  I don’t have the kind of cash that these people want me to.  So fucking ridiculous.

Until next time, a quote,

“The gaming industry, right now, is going through puberty.  It’s awkward, it’s strange, and it’s confused.  And so am I.  I have no idea where the hell anything is going.”  – Rich

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

