I’m Not Afraid of Death

The terror attacks in Brussels have gotten a lot of people scared out of their wits about the idea of a terrorist coming into their lives and fucking up their day.  But that’s not me.  Make no mistake, I am not afraid of the idea of being killed by a terrorist.  That doesn’t frighten me one bit.  The fact that it is unlikely in the extreme is not even part of that.  Though it is true that you are more likely to get bitten by a shark than you are to be killed in a terrorist attack.  At least in the First World.  In the First World, you are more likely to be crushed by a vending machine.  You are more likely to be stomped to death by a moose.  There are lots of things you are more likely to be a victim of than terrorism.  Thus, I am not afraid of death by terrorism.  But the reality is that I’m not afraid to die at all.  Not one tiny bit.

My mortality is a companion, to me.  It’s something that I know will come to an end one day, as it will for everyone.  I don’t get why people are so frightened of the idea of dying.  I don’t believe there’s an afterlife waiting for me.  I like the concept, but I don’t actively believe it.  Besides, if I were going to believe in an afterlife, I would believe in the one from Beyond: Two Souls.  An infinite existence where you can go anywhere and see anything.  Time and space mean nothing, and you can explore at your whim.  That sounds cool to me.  But that’s just wishful thinking.  I realize that the fact is that when I die, I am likely going to just blink out of existence and that’s that.

I was talking to a friend the other day, and he told me about how he carries a gun wherever he goes because he is afraid of being accosted by a criminal.  It apparently happens quite a bit where he is.  Someone nearly got shot out there.  I don’t get his need to have a gun.  Never mind the fact that a would-be criminal would likely get the jump on him, and his gun wouldn’t protect him at all.  I just don’t get why he is so eager to defend his life.

This ties in to my absolute abyss of depression and how I don’t really like this mortality bit all that much.  What is so great in life that it’s worth being constantly afraid for.  You die, and that’s it.  Whatever happens to us after we die, the fact is that all of your problems are over.  It’s the ultimate release from all the stupid BS that we have to deal with in the mortal plane.  There’s a book called the Hagakure, which I read because it has this great passage about life, which I have emulated in everything I do.

It is a good viewpoint to see the world as a dream. When you have something like a nightmare, you will wake up and tell yourself that it was only a dream. It is said that the world we live in is not a bit different from this.

That quote is the personal view that I live to.  I don’t actively care about most anything that happens in life.  I have to care about my finances and whatnot, but I have no existential crises that I fear on a daily basis.  Death just seems like the end to all the nonsense that I have to deal with every day.  When I die, I won’t have to care about my bills.  I won’t have to care about my lonely apartment.  I won’t have to care about my nigh-dead friend life or my utterly-dead personal life.  Death is the ultimate liberation from those concerns.

So why does my friend worry so much?  He never answered when I brought this thought up.  Is it just something that is accepted that life is supposed to be cherished.  Why?  You die, and that’s it.  All of your problems are done.  Nothing else matters.  In that last moment, you get to slip away and let it all go.  That sounds like the most freeing thing in the world.  The reality is that our existence in this plane is the thing that is so much ugliness.  Childhood is the greatest time you will ever have, and all of us neglect to see how good it is.

I guess this rambling post was just to tell you that you all and your attachment to this world interests me.  I want to know what is so important for you to fear for it.  If you believe in God, then doesn’t the idea of dying seem appealing to you.  You get to go to God.  If you don’t, then all of your problems are about to end.  Eternal rest.  It’s interesting.  But I guess that’s it.  Let me know what you all think about mortality in the comments.

Until next time, a quote,

“When I was younger, I wasn’t afraid of anything.  I didn’t have the slightest fear of dying.  No reason for it.  I thought that if I die, it was fine with me.  Anytime at all.”  -Spike Spiegel, Cowboy Bebop

Peace out,

Maverick

25 thoughts on “I’m Not Afraid of Death

  1. Hebrews 12:2
    “looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

    His joy met our need.

    • Talking to the wrong guy, dude. Your deity means no more to me than anyone else’s. From what I’ve seen, the religious people seem to fear death the most.

      • If Hell is real, and your deity chooses to let people stay there for eternity, and suffer for eternity, than you deity is evil. I want nothing to do with an evil creator. Though, if you think about it, there cannot be a god unless it’s evil. Read “Shadow Over Innsmouth” and you’ll understand. By the way, not even biblical scholars can agree if Jesus is real or not anymore.

      • He makes a way for you.
        You choose to accept it or reject it.
        On fact what you accept or reject is Jesus himself. He is either your Savior, or He is not.
        “I an the way, the truth, and the life.” Said Jesus

      • God chooses to let people suffer. He could stop it if he wanted to. He doesn’t, so he doesn’t want to stop it. He’s evil. Accept it, or remain ignorant.

      • Lucien,
        I’ve found that when someone wants to avoid the truth, they are usually successful.
        He loved you.
        If the choice wasn’t yours to accept or reject, it wouldn’t be love in return. Thats love.

      • Oh, so it’s love to let someone suffer for eternity? If you saw someone you loved suffering, even if they didn’t love you back, would you help them? Of course you would. That’s called empathy. You are trying to rationalize God not having any, because you don’t want to see the truth that if he is real, he’s evil.

      • God is also just.
        If He wasn’t He wouldn’t be perfect.
        Your soul is immortal. It will exist forever. In life with God because you accept Christ’s sacrifice for you, or you will exist forever in hell because you’ve rejected God’s love.

      • Just? He’s just? So it’s just to let a person suffer forever? If you actually believe that, then maybe you have some deeper issues with empathy too. Or maybe you’re just afraid to admit that you are basically make the case for God being evil better than I am, and you are trying to apologize for it. There’s a name for that. It’s called Battered Wife Syndrome.

      • And there ya go. When one cannot refute another person’s talking point, they find an out and take it. Nice playing. I haven’t gotten to take on bad Christian arguments in ages. This was refreshing.

      • I have logically refuted your points that your deity is a loving, caring being over and over again, yet I am the illogical one. The confirmation bias that religious people have never ceases to amaze me. You are so afraid of the idea that your deity is not what you believe, or may not exist at all, that you will wrap whatever logic you can around the concept so that it doesn’t have to cross your mind. Show me where my logic has failed, and I will listen. But your talking points are as old as they come, and they don’t impress me anymore. Hell, I’ve refuted this stuff so much that it’s old hat. Hence why I have enjoyed this discourse. You’re like one of these apologists who found my blog back in the early days, when I was all about trash-talking religion. It’s been a good trip down memory lane. But you haven’t refuted anything. Show me how my logic has failed. Give me an example.

      • And give me that example without citing the Bible, because that is a book filled with contradictions and outright lies. Where has my logic failed?

      • Wrong! You don’t punish someone for eternity. No one would. There comes a point that you have to say that someone has suffered enough. Unless, of course, you don’t have any empathy for people. If so, then you are evil. God is evil. If you believe in him, that is.

      • The punishment for sin is death. Since the soul is eternal, only eternal suffering equals death.
        Jesus died, was buried, and conquered death for you in this life so you would not have to die the srcond death, which is hell.

      • And if God was truly just, and actually cared for us, he wouldn’t have had to do all that. In fact, he could have just snapped his fingers and made it so that we’re all just forgiven and with him. Or that we’re all just as he wants us to be. Is he all powerful or not?

  2. If you are indeed interested in the thoughts of theists (particularly Christians) on this kind of thing, I recommend reading some C.S.Lewis. His apologetics are very well-written and logical. He was once an atheist, so I guess that makes sense. “The Problem of Pain” may be my favorite of his works, wherein he addresses what you’re arguing about with Christ Centered Teaching – how God can exist and be benevolent and yet allow suffering.

    • Yeah, read his work. Not impressed. The whole point of apologetics is the fact that they have to find a way to rationalize the fact that God is evil. It’s really dumb. Though, the biggest argument against Christianity itself is the very book that it worships. When you read a story about a 400 year old man building a giant boat and having two of every animal on it, then you realize how utterly retarded the religion is.

      • You’re the one who asked, friend. =)

        I’m not a literalist. There are Creationists out there, of course, but Catholicism teaches that the Bible is not a book; it’s a library. It contains works of many different genres, and not all are meant to be taken literally. And we do not worship the Bible, though maybe I’m just nitpicking words there.

        Anyway if you want to have a respectful discourse, I’m down, and I’m around. If you want to dismissively call Christianity retarded, you’re certainly welcome to your opinion, but it doesn’t sound as if you seriously want to talk.

      • I’m not the respectful type. I didn’t have a discourse with the last guy to be respectful. I did it to pwn his frankly stupid opinions about his non-existent deity. It was a nice throwback to the days when I was cutting religious arguments down to size when I first started this website. I liked the nostalgia. But make no mistake, I was belittling his ideas about a religion that so obviously isn’t real and was made so that people don’t have to be afraid of the unknown. Sorry if you got the misconception that it was respectful discourse.

  3. I was more referring to the fact that you solicited comments in your post. Sounded as if you might actually like to have a productive conversation. Anyway, peace out.

Leave a Reply

