RAB: HBO’s Spawn and Noah’s Ark Fossils?

Two things.  I’ve been having an utterly fantastic laugh over the last few minutes.  No joke, I feel like I’m going to die.  I haven’t been able to stop.  It’s possessed me.  I haven’t talked about religion in a LONG time on this site.  Not hard to see why.  There’s only so much one can say.  There comes a point where you just realize that you’ve said all that can be said about religion.  The apologist arguments never change.  I’ve had a back-and-forth comment battled with a woman named Janina Balabat, who wrote an insane book about religion that I happened upon back when I worked at the Library.  Trying to reason with her was like fighting it out with a brick wall.  There was no winning.

But before we get into that, I want to talk about an animated series by HBO.  It was something I never expected to see.  An animated series about the Spawn comic.  One that was produced and have REALLY stupid intro segments by the comic’s author himself.  Still, isn’t it weird that this was made by HBO?  I mean, since when do they do animated work?  The series varied in quality.  Some episodes were fantastic.  Some were boring as fuck.  But it was still quite something.  When I was watching Nostalgia Critic’s review of that god-awful movie, I thought back to this series.  Three seasons, each about six episodes long.  If only this series had had more of a budget.  See, the animation had some amazing moments.  The problem was that they had clear limitations that kept them from doing something absolutely exceptional.  Still, impressive.  The thing that set it apart was the amazing voice-work of the titular character by Keith David.  That voice is sexy as fuck.  Even now, it’s still awesome.  Kills me that I know that one of these years, he will be another truly fantastic actor to pass on.  It’s fucking depressing.

I hear that they’re making a new Spawn film.  It’ll be another CG mess.  I miss the days of 2D animation.  There are some things that CG just can’t recreate.  A pity that we’ll never get to see how the story of Spawn never ended in this animated series.

Anyway, to the star of this random tangent.  See, I couldn’t make a whole post dedicated to this topic.  There just isn’t that much to say.  I can’t find an embed link anywhere, so you’re just going to have to watch it at this link.  It’s a story about a man who says that he found fossils from the Noah’s Ark flood.  How does he know this?  Well, a “self-proclaimed fossil expert” says so!  It’s too dumb to be real, but it is.  A real person in the real world actually believes that he found fossils that are dated at the time of Noah’s flood.  When I watched the news piece in the link, I nearly died.  I couldn’t breathe.  My stomach hurts.  It was too fucking funny.  How on Earth did a news outlet take this seriously?!  Hell, they have a disclaimer in the article saying that they are in no way experts.  Are you kidding me?!  You pretty much admit that you have no idea if this is right or not.  Did you just print this to have a laugh?

This is like that news story on Drunken Peasants where you have a man who is nearly naked being interviewed by a female reporter.  They just wanted to give a crazy person a platform.  But they say that it is something that we might not believe.  No shit, Sherlock!  It’s a person who says that he found fossils of Noah’s Ark!  What sane, rational person believes that?!  There’s no proof of Noah’s flood outside of the Bib-le.  None.  Absolute zero.  But this sad, pathetic individjual (situation) thinks that he found fossils from it.  And he got some other loony tune to confirm this.

Honestly, there’s nothing more I can say about this.  Random as this is, hopefully you all can join me in a laugh.  I think I’ll let the Joker play this one out.

Until next time, a quote,

“It’s a funny world we live in.”  – Joker, The Dark Knight

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

