RAB: Obsessive Internet Culture

*Note: this post is going to contain some extreme spoilers about the end of season 5 of Game of Thrones.  If you do not want to hear it, please stop reading now*

A new trailer for the upcoming season of Game of Thrones dropped (linked here).  I was going to do a First Take post, but then I came across something on my Facebook feed the other day.  It was a post on some geeky page that I follow, where a person decided to post something that basically spoils the fuck out of the biggest question that has been getting on fans of this series nerves since the end of the last season.  I’ll give you five guess as to what.  It was right in the headline!  No click-bait bullshit to compel me.  That I could stay away from.  It was right in the friggin’ title!  So I knew what the post was trying to say the moment it appeared.  It was so frustrating!

I mean, it’s not like I didn’t figure this would happen.  I knew that after Jon Snow was stabbed to shit in the last season that he wouldn’t die.  There’s kind of a reason that you know a character isn’t dead until it’s official.  Plus, were you all watching the scene where Snow and the Night’s King were staring each other down?  That might as well have had a big neon sign saying, “This character is important!”  You had the Night’s King looking at Jon like he found his newest playmate.  Of course I knew that he wouldn’t be dead.  But when you have a post on a site where some obsessive person who has no ability to get outside goes through the trailer with a fine-toothed comb and spoils the answer, then it takes away all the build-up.  It would have been one of those things where viewers would be waiting on baited breath to see what happens to one of their favorite characters.  At least he’s one of mine.  I don’t know about the rest of you.  His character has gotten better and better as the years go by.  It’s pretty awesome.

Which makes me think about how obsessive Internet culture is.  Part of the huge ocean of YouTube stank is videos where people obsessively talk about and deconstruct stuff.  Makes one wonder if sunlight is a thing that people on the Internet know about.  Maybe it’s like the Yeti.  They’ve heard about it, but until they see it, it doesn’t exist.  It really is amazing.  How do people have so much time?  It’s like everyone is now so obsessed with the stuff they love that they have to make sure the every person out there knows how much they obsess over it all the time.

Granted, sometimes it is funny.  I’ll admit that I watch some channels for the express purpose of seeing them dissect stuff.  Until my new job starts, I have to have something to occupy my time.  But these people take it to the extreme!  There’s a fine line between the pretentious overanalyzing that I do and making it abundantly clear that the idea of you touching a sexual organ is an life-long ambition.

Don’t really have anything more to say about that.  It’s just really annoying.  Yeah, this was a random assortment of bullshit, wasn’t it?

Until next time, a quote,

“And now, here’s something you’ll really like!”  -Rocky, Rocky and Bullwinkle

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

