An Answer to the Facebook Interview Question

I read this article in The Washington Post which talked about the interview process for going to work at Facebook.  I am not remotely qualified to work there.  I don’t know how to code.  I was a Journalism and Public Communication major in college.  So I know that I would never be up for such a position.  But the question still interested me enough to answer.  I’ve been having a rough time lately trying to find a new job.  It’s so frustrating.  I just had an absolutely fantastic interview today.  It was awesome.  Me and the guy interviewing me clicked and had this great repore.  So that seems good, right?  Of course, he told me that he pretty much gave every applicant an interview.  And my resume sucks.  So I know that my chances are slim.

With that in mind, I thought I would answer the apparently very daunting and revealing question that Facebook asks potential employees.  Let me know what you think.

“On your very best day at work — the day you come home and think you have the best job in the world — what did you do that day?”

Man, the last time I felt that way.  It’s been a long time.  So long a time.  Years ago, now.  My favorite job I have ever had was as a bakery clerk at Fred Meyer.  If it paid a living wage, I’d still be doing that job.  But it doesn’t, so here I am.  Trying to get in with clerical work in the medical field.  A field that is dominated by women.  I’m a guy, who isn’t the best looking, trying to get a job that I am instantly at a disadvantage for.  It’s hard.  Wow, that was a digression.  Guess I should get back to the question.

The very best day at work, when I felt like I had the best job in the world, what did I do?  I think the last time I felt that way was when I worked at my college’s library.  It was a dull job, but when I was first starting out, I thought that I had hit gold.  This was going to be a great opportunity.  A job that I could keep when I was in college.  Something that could work with my school schedule and pay a pretty good wage.  I felt pretty good.  The days that I felt the best were the ones where I would be driving home.  I had to commute to the job during the summer.  Not the best, but it was what it was.  There was one year where I was taking the bus into the city, but I didn’t do that nearly as often as I should have.  My parents were more than a little unhappy about that fact.

But the days when I truly felt my best were when I could drive home.  It’s summer here in the great white north.  Everything was all warm.  I would have the window down, with one arm resting on it.  I got a great tan…on my elbow.  That’s it.  Just there.  What I did that day was just relish that moment.  When I’m driving home after a long day, and felt totally at ease.  Although, that wasn’t the only time.

There was a point where I was living with a girl I was dating.  I was still at that job.  The place we had was ratty.  I am convinced that there was a mold problem.  But I remember that during the time when we lived together, those were also days when I felt like I had the best job in the world.  I knew that I couldn’t keep it forever.  In fact, I knew that it was time to trade up.  The place we had had steep rent, and she couldn’t pay equal share to me working fast food.  But when I would come home, and there was someone there waiting for me, those were the best days of my life.  Having a great job is wonderful.  I hope the one I interviewed for today gets to be that great opportunity.  The thing that truly makes those days worth everything, though, is when you are able to go home and have something to go back to.  It’s a feeling I have missed for a very long time.

So there’s my answer to the question.  How did I do?

Until next time, a quote,

I saw myself as a knight-errant…but the damsel in distress stabbed me in the back, my sword shattered on the dragon’s hide, and my grail turned out to be the bottom of a whiskey bottle.” -John Taylor

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

