Let’s Talk about Twitter and Free Speech (A response to The Amazing Atheist)

For those of you who don’t know, the other day, a douche-monkey named Atheism is Unstoppable’s Twitter account was suspended.  Again.  This happens a lot.  This guy has a problem controlling his mouth when it wants to say specific things.  What things – doxxing.  This dude has a bad habit of doxxing people, and it has gotten him suspended more than once.  He’s also had a problem with his YouTube channels being subjected to false-flagging campaigns.  I am bringing both of these up for a reason.  See, TJ, aka The Amazing Atheist did a video on his TJ Does Life channel (linked here) where he defended AIU’s ability to say whatever he wants, and believes that he should not lose his ability to speak because of it.  Needless to say, this is contentious.  And I thought that I would interject, knowing full well that he will NEVER read the opinion of some nobody on WordPress, even though I do plan to send this his way.  As I said, he won’t read it, but maybe somebody will.

Let’s talk about the false-flagging campaigns first.  I am 100% against them.  I would never, ever flag a video because I don’t like it . If a video was doxxing someone, then that is somewhere where I can see it needs to be flagged.  I am the kind of person who takes doxxing very, very seriously.  I believe that it should be cracked down upon, because nobody should have their private information leaked onto the Internet.  That’s private for a reason.  Why did I feel the need to say this?  Because I am going to tell you all something.

I am absolutely for the right of people to speak as they wish.  Free speech is sacrosanct, to me.  You should have the right to say whatever dumb-fuck thought enters your mind, no matter how inflammatory it is.  I will fight to the death to defend the right of crazy Fundies or crazy feminists to speak their mind.  I may despise both groups, but I will fight for that right all the same.  One needs to get that out there before I go to the second part of this.  To be honest, this isn’t going to be a long post.  I don’t have too much to say.  I wouldn’t even be making this if, on the last episode of The Drunken Peasants Podcast (linked here) they hadn’t elaborated on TJ’s statements, with Paul’s Ego chiming in as well.  This is why I don’t live in an echo chamber.  It was nice to have people who I don’t always agree with making statements that I definitely didn’t.  I thought that especially Paul’s Ego was a little crass on this.  But it was worth listening to, and it is a pity that I am some nobody on WordPress, because I wish I could engage with them in civil discourse.

Here’s the thing – Twitter is not a free speech zone.  Why?  Simple – because they are not part of the government.  If Twitter was a government subsidized company or under the government’s tutelage, then yes, I would say that they should not be able to silence people’s ability to speak.  But that’s not what’s happening here.  They are a private business, and they can set the rules however they want, and interpret them however they want.  If that means that tomorrow my account is suspended because I’m an atheist and have said atheist things, or that I have sent snarky things to feminists who all have me blocked, would that bug me?  Sure.  But I can’t call foul because of free speech.  That isn’t what Twitter is.  It’s a private service and they call the shots.  Sometimes that means that companies are unfair.

The guys at DP seem to believe that being libertarian means that you’re conservative.  But that’s not how it is.  I am a member of the Libertarian Left in this country.  That’s where I am on the political spectrum.  I believe that any company that pays its taxes doesn’t break the law should be allowed to do business with whomever they like.  The whole thing about “no shirt, no shoes, no service,” that’s how I tend to see it.  Twitter can make the rules as they like.  Don’t like it?  Well, the Chans exist for a reason.  There you can be as nuts as you like.  And if one Chan bans you, there are tons of others.

TJ, you will never read this, but I hope that someone connected to you does, and maybe they can see where I’m coming from.  Do I believe that AIU’s account should have been suspended for doxxing?  Yes.  I believe there should be a three strikes policy in respect to this sort of thing.  Three strikes, you are banned from Twitter.  If you can’t learn your shit and stop doc-dropping people, then you pay the price.  But that’s just my opinion.  I don’t make the rules.  Twitter isn’t a part of the government.  And that’s what I have to say about that.

Until next time, a quote,

“Good company and good discourse are the sinew of virtue.”  -Izaak Walton

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

