Lucien’s First Take: Suicide Squad – Official Trailer

When I first saw the trailer for the new Deadpool movie, I was in love.  A superhero movie that eschews this family-friendly bullshit in favor of sick action, violence, and having a sense of humor.  That was awesome!  I am so stoked to see it next month.  Three weeks away, people.  Now, when I saw the last trailer to this film, I was unimpressed.  It was the Joker’s line that did it.  I still can’t take the visual design of this character seriously, but that line, “I’m not gonna kill you.  I’m just gonna hurt you really, really bad” just did in the credibility of this character for me.  I mean, come on!  It’s so ridiculous!  How are we supposed to see this character as threatening?  But maybe there was something that I just wasn’t seeing.  Some element of this film that was eluding me.  Now I got my answer.  I can’t wait to talk about it, so let’s look at it first.

I almost squeed with joy.  This looks like so much fun!  Some people are mad about the usage of a song by Queen in there, but I think it went so well.  This movie is fucking bonkers!  And I love it!  Has there been a new trend that’s been started of superhero movies that are violent beyond all reason, and unashamed about being ridiculous?  Ones that can be violent, insane, and not feeling the need to cater to the family-friendly crowd?  Yes?  Well sign me the fuck up!  There is so much to talk about, so let’s do it!

For starters, did I just see Will Smith being charismatic?!  Wow!  It’s been so long since this actor showed that side of himself that I honestly forgot it was there.  Welcome back, bro!  Sure, you decided not to cash in on the Independence Day sequel, but at least you can make up some of that here by having us enjoy you as this character.  But man, that isn’t even important.  Just so much to say!

This song sets everything up perfectly.  As I said, Queen just works here.  You have the insane-asylum approach of this movie set up so well.  They show off characters, making sure that we understand that none of them are people who we want to run into.  These people are villains, which we understand are being sent into a meat grinder because this woman wants a squad of monsters to do her dirty work.  It follows the comic it’s based on in that regard.  But then we get right down to it.

As I said, maybe I can’t take the look of the new Joker seriously, but it’s clear that Jared Leto is putting his all into this performance.  He’s a Joker all his own.  I kind of love that.  He’s not trying to copy Ledger.  He wants to make a new Joker.  Not only do I respect that, but I think it’s gutsy.  I hope it doesn’t end up sucking.  Though I’m not worried.  Everything I’ve seen tells me that this isn’t going to be that.  I could be wrong, but call it a gut feeling, this looks right.

What gets to me most is that this trailer sends a clear message – this movie is bonkers, don’t take it so seriously.  Just like with Deadpool, I love that!  If this is a new trend that is being started, let’s get on this!  I can tell that this isn’t going to be NEARLY as violent as Deadpool, which is a bit of a shame, but it is still hyper-violent and dripping in batty fun.  Speaking of, not a lot of the Bat in this.  Curious.  But he would have just tried to make this all serious.  I don’t want that, and whoever made this trailer didn’t either.

In closing, can’t wait!  You know the funny thing – the movies that I think are going to be the best of this year come out at inopportune times. Maybe it’s telling that the production companies aren’t putting their chips on them?  I think they should have more faith.

Initial Verdict
8 out of 10

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

