Lucien’s First Take: Independence Day: Resurgence Trailer

I was pondering doing a First Take of the new X-Men movie trailer, but I realized that I would have nothing to talk about.  It looks stupid.  It looks really, really stupid.  I mean, why is it taking place in the past?  Where is Wolverine?  Why are we using the new version for this?  Why does Apocalypse look so dumb?  Why doesn’t it look even remotely entertaining?  Yeah, a lot of questions, and none of them with good answers.  So I decided not to.  No point wasting a post to talk about bullshit, am I right?  Then, I come back from my walk today and I see a story on my Facebook feed – the trailer for the new Independence Day film is out.

I’ll level with all of you – I like the original movie.  It’s as big a guilty pleasure as it gets.  Especially since it is SO stupid.  I fully accept that the movie is dumb with a capital D.  But I don’t care.  It’s that kind of corny, cheesy 90’s action movie that was so damn much fun to watch!  I loved that stuff!  The quotable lines, the iconic scenes.  It’s a classic!  When I heard that they were doing a sequel, I was just as confused as everyone else.  I mean, why?  What’s the point?  Sure, there were a lot of directions that it could go.  After all, the sequel could get pretty dark.  I mean, surely not ALL of the aliens died after the end of the movie.  There had to be some left.  There was a great Cracked article (back when that website was actually cool) that talked about how the ending to that movie was secretly terrifying.  After all, the aliens still have vastly-superior technology.  And now they had nothing to lose.  It would have been REALLY grim warfare, wouldn’t it?  Still, I was certain that they wouldn’t go that direction with this movie.  It is Hollywood, after all.  If they could actually do dark films anymore in big blockbusters, that would be a form of amazement like no other.

But the trailer is out, so let’s see what they came up with.

The first thing I will say about this trailer is that I like that they acknowledge how long it’s been since the first movie.  That’s a nice touch.  I also like that they did what we all know they would do – adapted the aliens technology for our use.  Though, does that mean that we have shields as well?  Would make firefights with these things interesting.  After 20 years, it looks like we have reverse-engineered their technology pretty well.  That has some dark implications all on its own.  After all, their power source seemed unlimited.  Did we reverse-engineer that as well?  Turn the world into a utopia of free energy, but also into a military stronghold, because we knew that the aliens would be back?  That’s a neat dichotomy.  Especially when you consider that it is actually likely that humanity would finally be able to put our bullshit aside for the greater goal – preparing for war with the aliens.

Of course, we have Jeff Goldblum.  They played down the geekiness role here.  Now he seems to be a jaded survivor who has been working closely to prepare for the coming battle.  We also have little bits showing that Bill Pullman is back.  He’s certainly grown a nice beard.  Very grandpa.  We also have a brief clip showing Goldblum’s dad.  Less neat, but at least they acknowledged he existed.  Clearly Will Smith isn’t in this movie.  If he was, we’d have seen it.  A name that big (he’s diminished some after After Earth, but he’s still a big name), and who people who actually wanted a sequel would want to see, and they would have made sure we knew he was in this.

Aside from that, I don’t really know.  It’s like, it looks…okay.  Just like the last one, it’s clearly going to be a popcorn film, but it looks like an…okay popcorn film.  The first movie had a bunch of 90’s cheese.  This one has a bunch of 2010’s uber-seriousness.  For real, have you noticed how so many movies take themselves overly-serious nowadays?  I kind of miss the cheese.  Oh well.  Not all movies can be Guardians of the Galaxy.  I definitely won’t be seeing it in theaters, but I think I’ll Netflix it when it comes out.  Until then, I guess I can give an Initial Verdict.  Let me know what you think in the Comments.  This is a curious little film.  Potentially, anyway.

Initial Verdict
6 out of 10

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

