Lucien’s First Take: Star Wars: The Force Awakens Trailer (Official)

I already did a First Take about the initial trailer for this new film.  I wasn’t impressed.  Even now, the design of that lightsaber bothers me.  But whatever.  I’m just being a nit-picky bastard.  Not only that, but I have been burned out of Star Wars from how terrible the prequel films were.  I said that this new movie would have to go out of its way to impress me.  A couple other teasers and I wasn’t impressed.  However, they have released the final trailer, and I am just going to come out and say it – I am going to see this movie in theaters.  Assuming I have the money.  Budget is beyond tight, at the moment.  But I am going to see the film all the same.  If I don’t have the money, then I guess I’ll be avoiding spoilers like a bitch and then waiting for it to come out on Netflix.  If I had a Patreon page, would you all donate to that cause?  Don’t worry, I don’t.  Just making a funny.  Sort of.  Written word will never be profitable like YouTube, so I know that no one would donate.  Oh well.  Part of me wishes that I was able to somehow monetize this.  It has been my passion project for years.  Wait, I’m getting off topic.  The trailer.  I’ll let you all see it, then we’ll talk about it.

Well, if they wanted to convince me that this film is nothing like the prequels, this is it.  I mean, I love these environments!  For starters, it is cool to see inside the corpse of a Star Destroyer.  There is this girl character, and I have no idea who she is.  Would have been nice to see something about her.  We did get to know who this black stormtrooper guy is.  I actually like that.  Now, before you get on me, I did actually have an issue with this guy, but hear me out.  As much as we’d all like to believe the prequel films didn’t happen, they did.  The stormtroopers are clones, made from Jango Fett.  So who is this guy?  Why is he in this movie?  Did they start cloning other people?  I wanted an answer.  But now I’m cool with this guy.  It’s hinted that he wasn’t cloned.  Like was raised in this.  I might be wrong, but if that’s the case, then it hints that the Empire is having trouble rebuilding their clone army.  Or maybe they had to start over.  There are cool implications with this character, which is why I now am totally fine with him.  So yeah, don’t go losing your shit because I once had a problem with this.

Next up, there’s the music.  That’s the thing that REALLY got me about this trailer.  This fucking sounds like Star Wars!  For the first time, in ages, this actually sounds like Star Wars.  No idea if they got John Williams to do the score again, but if not, the person they got to replace him is REALLY fucking good.  I like this.

But more than anything else, it feels like Star Wars.  Not drowning in CG.  There is a lot there, but you see that there are sets, and environments, and real things that characters are interacting with.  Do you know how cool that is?!  I’ve been waiting for a movie that makes me feel like I am watching something worthy of the original trilogy again, and I gotta say, this is it.  I like what I am seeing.  The fighter battles were the best.  Something about watching the Millennium Falcon dodging TIE Fighter fire around a Star Destroyer corpse feels SO right.  JJ Abrams seems to have gotten the formula right, and I am actually eager to see what comes next.  This has been a year of disappointing blockbusters, but I think that this is going to be the movie that brings it all back.  Guess we’ll wait and see.  Though, since I am certain that the theaters will be filled for weeks after the film comes out, my review will almost-certainly be coming out next year.

Initial Verdict
8 out of 10

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

