Lucien’s Gaming Clips: Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture (Stephen’s Ending)

I have recently been playing around with the Share tool on my PS4.  This is some really cool stuff.  I have decided to upload clips that really stick with me in games.  May also do some boss fights in Bloodborne.  Uncertain, just yet.  But for today, here is the first clip that I have uploaded.  It’s the bit on the game Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture that has REALLY stuck with me.  Hopefully you all can see why.  The way that Stephen talked about his dad, with this being the last memory that he tells us, it’s pretty heart-wrenching.

For a little context, this scene is after you have learned Stephen Appleton’s story.  He was a man who was full of ambition, married a woman he respected, and ended up returning him to work at an observatory.  Very quickly, life there went sour.  He ended up cheating on his wife with an old flame, and became very central to what happened to his town, and the deaths of everyone he cared about.  By my estimation, he was the second to last to die, having seen everything go horribly, horribly wrong.  For which he feels personally responsible, but also blames his wife, who he has come to feel very negatively about.  But enough of me talking.  Here’s the clip.  Enjoy.

Let me know what you think down in the comments section.  Always interested in the discussion. Why do you think that this was the last memory that he shared?  Hopefully I can get a discussion going, because that’s what I love to do most in games.

Until next time, a quote,

“It doesn’t know it’s hurting us.”  -Stephen Appleton, Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

