SIONR: Daenerys Targaryen

There are not words to describe how much I hate this character.  I genuinely don’t get why there is so much love for her.  Maybe it’s because her character is super-good and super-nice.  She’s a total Mary Sue.  She has no flaws, and is freeing slaves.  She’s the archetypal Wonder Woman, minus the super-powers.  Except being able to be burned and not die, I suppose.  That is a power.  But yeah, this character just bugs me.  My ex and I have a name for her type of character – Cassie.

For those who have no idea what I’m talking about, let’s go into the graveyard of book series that pretty much everyone has forgotten about and dig us up an old one.  A book series from the…90’s!  Dun-dun-DUN!  I know, this might be hard for some of my audience.  But it’s true.  This was my favorite book series, growing up.  Despite the ridiculous title, this book series was a hell of a lot smarter than anyone gave it credit for.  It talked about some pretty hard shit. For something that I loved so much, with awesome characters who I came to care about, it had an ending so terrible that I choose to believe that it never happened.  I am still waiting for the end book.  I will always be waiting.  The book series was called “Animorphs.” For those who are from my era, this was just an awe-filled moment.  How many of you waited for each Scholastic book listing, for the new books in the series?  How many got the listing of new book at Waldenbooks and looked to see if this one was on it?  It was magical.  For a series I loved so much, how it ended was just criminal.  K.A. Applegate clearly was burned out with the franchise and wanted it over.  She did the worst ending of all, so she could get it over with. Too bad that the series she tried to start afterwards sucked so bad.  Perhaps karmic justice?  Who knows.

Among those who remember what this series was about, you probably remember all of the characters.  I do.  I know what each and every one of them was like.  My favorites were Ax, Tobias and Rachel.  Though Jake comes pretty close.  Him and Marco.  Marco got better as the series got longer.  Though, Jake is probably the most profound.  There was one character that I always hated.  Always.  I hated her so much that it drove me nuts!  Cassie.  She was the worst.  The absolute worst.  Now, this is where we go into the fact that I am fucked up as a person, but let’s talk about why I don’t like Cassie.

Her character is supposed to be the moral center of the group.  The person who sees things from a humanist side.  Since they are in a war with an alien race bent on conquering all of humanity, there is an argument to be made that Cassie is the one having to shoulder the most moral responsibility.  Granted, I don’t believe that for a moment.  In truth, Jake is the one who shoulders the most.  It is clear, by the end of the series, how much psychological damage being the leader of their guerrilla war has been on him.  Especially when they have to make choices that end up getting thousands of people killed.  Often horrible.

Cassie was whiny.  She was preachy.  She was such a goody-goody.  Like Katara, in Avatar: The Last Airbender.  Also my least favorite character.  I think it’s because those two female characters are very maternal.  The same instincts that have VERY strong empathy tend to be in maternal characters.  Sokka describes Katara as being like a mother to him.  And Cassie is the mother of her group.  She constantly has to nag and harp on every little moral quandary.  It is war, honey!  Sometimes, hard choices have to be made!  If you can’t handle the tough stuff, get out of the game!

That’s where I find myself with Daenerys.  She is SO preachy!  I swear, does that bimbo see Westeros from up on her high horse?  She thinks that she’s such hot shit.  I am actually liking how we get to see her being brought down a peg in this season.  FINALLY, we don’t have to hear about how she’s “mother of dragons.”  The thing that drove me most nuts was in season two, where she says that she has magical powers.  What magic?!  You can walk into flame and not die?!  That’s not impressive, lady!  You can still die if someone runs you through with their sword.  I really do hope that, at some point, we get to see her take some damage.  See some of her own blood and realize that she’s not a god.  She’s a person.

The worst thing about how full of herself she is is the fact that she has NO real experience ruling a nation!  She wants to rule the Seven Kingdoms, but she is not even an adult.  Well, by the show’s timeline, she is now.  I am operating under the assumption that a couple of years have passed since the start of the series.  No way all this plot has only taken a few months.  It has also been kind of nice to see her realize that she doesn’t have a fucking clue when it comes to leading.  She owns a kingdom, and it’s falling apart around her.  Her army is being slowly cut down, and you can see that she’s scared.  Now that Ser Barristan (spoiler alert!) is dead, all of her council that knows how to rule a country is gone.  That’s what makes the fact that Tyrion is going to become her Hand (I’d put a hefty wager it’s around the end of the season) that much more poignant.  I hope he gives her some TOUGH love, to show her that she doesn’t have a fucking clue.  This season has brought her down a couple pegs.  We need to see more.  Then, I might start to like her.  When she actually has to play the game.

I can already see the Twitter and Tumblr feminists being against me on this.  She is their perfect character.  A Mary Sue, can do no wrong, super-strong, and has dragons.  This season is giving her a lot more humanity.  The scene where Drogon comes back, sniffs her, then leaves is powerful.  You can see the look in her eyes about how hurt she is.  Even her family doesn’t want her around.  Her other dragons seem to be coming over to her side, but it was still intense.  Especially since it was after a riot that nearly got her in hot water.

I genuinely don’t like her character, but part of me is coming around, since they’ve actually shown some chinks in her armor.  I guess we’ll see where this goes.

Until next time, a quote,

“Let’s assume that everything goes exactly as you plan.  She goes to Westeros, becomes ruler of the Seven Kingdoms and beyond.  Hurrah!  What happens then?”  -Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones

Peace out,

Maverick

One thought on “SIONR: Daenerys Targaryen

  1. Ohhh god, yes, I had forgotten about Animorphs! The ending shattered me as a kid. Personally, I’ve always liked Dany’s storyline, but I think she’s dumb and will one day go mad like her father, whether she wants to admit it or not.

Leave a Reply

