SIONR: Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Man, I get up this morning and my inbox on several sites has plenty of people who have flooded it with the new trailer for Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  I guess, after my rather scathing post about the first teaser, they wanted me to comment on the new one.  I’m not doing this as a First Take post, because honestly, there’s not much to say about the trailer.  Rather, I want to talk about why, even having seen the new trailer, I have no real desire to see the film.  None at all.  Oh no!  He just said that he doesn’t want to get into the new Star Wars?!  Heresy!  It really isn’t, and I’m going to explain why.  But first, let’s do shameless pandering and have the trailer on here, so you all can gush your little fanboy/girl eyes out!

Here’s something you all need to know about me – I have been DONE with Star Wars for a long time.  The prequel films were terrible.  The absolute worst.  I hated those films from the bottom of my little black heart.  They took a great franchise and threw it in the shitter.  I just got it all out of my system by the last film.  It’s…just not there anymore.

The worst thing about that is that this trailer makes this film look a lot better than the last one.  That stupid red lightsaber design will always bug me, but they at least make the conflict of good and evil look a little more complicated.  You have a stormtrooper leaving their ranks, on a mission all his own.  You have ruins of the Rebellion and the Empire.  It’s clear that the Empire isn’t totally dead yet.  That makes sense.  It wouldn’t have just up and disappeared when the Emperor died.  I’m sure that there were lines of succession.  So the battle is still going on.  And this trailer makes it look like it’s gotten pretty ugly.  You have fights taking place close to ground, with the lines of where the battle happens getting blurred.  That is kinda neat.

Then there’s the battles.  It looks like Star Wars.  It sounds like Star Wars.  It feels like Star Wars!  Everything about this trailer should get me pumped!  But, it doesn’t.  I couldn’t possibly care less.  They even have that bit at the end, where you see Han Solo saying “we’re home.”  I can already hear the fanboys/girls cheering.  And…I don’t care.  It means nothing to me.

You all must be thinking that I’m nuts.  After all, “how can you not be excited by that?!”  I think part of it is because I’m getting kind of sick of the sequel world we live in right now.  For real, almost every film is a sequel, a reboot, or a comic book film.  That’s everything!  And you know, it’s getting old.  The reboots are almost-universally bad.  Or, at the very least, underwhelming.  You have them remaking films that have aged incredibly well, like Secret of NIMH, which, if you read the synopsis they put out, is going to be the stupidest thing of all time.  You have them remaking The Crow, which is especially annoying to me because of the fact that Brandon Lee gave his life for that film, and it didn’t need a remake.  Honestly, I think that Hollywood is out of ideas, at this point.

Before you all come at me, yes, I realize that the reason they do this is because we pay to see it.  Well, you all do.  I only see the films in theaters that I think are worth seeing.  Michael Bay once said that we might hate his movies, but we’ll see them anyway.  I didn’t take that bait.  I didn’t watch Transformers 3, 4 or the new Ninja Turtles movie.  Still, I’m just one guy.  One pretentious douchebag doesn’t mean much in the buckets of money that those movies make.

So yeah, my thoughts in this trailer – it looks a lot better than the last one.  That might actually be a good movie.  But you know what, I don’t care.  I’ll watch it on Netflix, when it comes out.  Until then, I guess you all will do what you want to do.  I know I’m in the minority here.

Until next time, a quote,

“Is life not a thousand times too short for us to bore ourselves?”  -Friedrich Nietzsche

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

