Lucien’s Review: Life is Strange: Episode 2

Life is StrangeAfter a first episode that got me – hook, line, and sinker – it comes back with another episode that keeps the plot going in a pretty good way.  I am hearing mixed things about this on the Inter-webs, but for the few people who actually read these, I think that you have a lot to dig into, here.  Plus, well, I’ll get to what makes all the choices that you made before so much better.  Overall, while this isn’t perfect, it has me wondering where the next chapter goes.  But let’s talk a bit about it, first.

The plot pics up the next day from the previous episode.  You have Max waking up, having spent what seems to be a considerable amount of time trying to figure out the reason behind her time-altering capabilities.  But the mysteries surrounding Blackwell Academy are growing, and now Max is hip-deep in it, trying to figure everything out.  The only ally she has is her friend Chloe.  But can they figure it all out, before the doom that is slated to appear on Friday?

Did that seem vague?  Yeah, I can’t go into too much more detail without some MAJOR spoilers.  In truth, since the technicals didn’t change for this Episode, I won’t have much to say about that.  I will say that the lip-syncing is still terrible, but now that I’m used to it, I found myself only being annoyed by it a couple times.

So, what can we talk about?  Well, let’s talk about the pacing.  That’s my biggest gripe with this episode.  Toward the middle, there is a REALLY awkward section where the pace totally stumbles, and it feels like the episode is dragging its ass.  It’s a section where Max and Chloe are getting closer, but it is not more than a little annoying, save a segment where I really screwed up and nearly gave myself a heart attack.  Thank god for the ability to rewind time.

I will say that the relationships of the characters get more developed.  This game has done well making each relationship feel like it’s growing or falling apart, depending on what you did last time.  Though one of my choices in connection to a certain bitch character had me wishing that I had destroyed her in the previous episode.  For real, it was so infuriating.  Which brings me to another element that works – the consequences of decisions.  Each decision you made has a place in this game.  What you did has a real meaning.  This all comes to a head very late in the game.

All of the pacing issues aside, this episode was worth it for the climax.  I can’t say what happens, but I will say that you are placed in an unbelievably-difficult situation, and your time powers are unable to help you.  If you screw up, it’s on you.  The tension there was unbelievable!  I was so crazed!  And I know I screwed up.  When I did, that really hurt.  I felt terrible.  Especially when I saw some of the other mistakes I made in the last episode come back to bite me.  All of the choices come to a head in that climax, and it will touch you.  Unless you don’t have a soul.  That’s right, I said it.

While not as good as the last episode, I can’t help but recommend this one.  Some people said that this segment bit off more than it could chew, but I disagree.  There was some pacing issues, toward the middle, but overall, it was still fun.  I know this review didn’t tell you much, but like I said, if I explained it any better, I would spoil stuff, and I don’t want to do that, because it’s worth not spoiling.  Take that for whatever you will.

Final Verdict
7 out of 10

Peace out,

Maverick

2 thoughts on “Lucien’s Review: Life is Strange: Episode 2

Leave a Reply

