SIONL: Game of Thrones: Season 4

So, I just got done finally watching the fourth season of Game of Thrones.  I will say that this post is going to spoil the shit out of everything to do with that season, but you all have already seen it.  Whether you waited to see it on DVD, like me, or pirated it, or actually have HBO on cable.  Seriously, who does that?  For me, I waited to buy the DVD copy because I want to financially support the show.  The budget for it is astronomical, and I want to help in whatever way I can, considering that this show’s budget could be one of the things that kills it.  Besides, the only reason that people pirated the shit out of it is because HBO has been so stupid in not having anywhere to stream it, other than their site that you have to have their subscription service to get.  Why they have done this baffles me.  But there are signs that they might be wising up.  New information points to the next season being rolled out with a streaming service that HBO is making.  If they are smart, they will do like FUNimation does and have the newest episode be paid, with the older ones being free.  A nice little incentive, for people who have no patience (like me!)

Anyway, got off topic.  I love this season.  For real, Game of Thrones is one of those shows that keeps getting better and better.  Each season has more intrigue and character development than the one before.  They always are upping the stakes and it makes the show just fantastic.  For real, I cannot overstate how good this show is getting.  And what I have been seeing for where the plot of the next season goes, it is just too hard to wait.  HBO, you have a golden opportunity to bring in a fuck-ton of money.  Don’t mess this up!

In any case, what did I like about this season?  What didn’t I?!  I warmed you about spoilers, so I am going to say again – if you haven’t seen the fourth season, do it!  Do it now! (insert Schwarzenegger accent)  Alright, you’ve been warned.

Right in the second episode, they kill Joffrey!  Oh MAN was that cathartic!  Watching that little fuck-nugget die was very emotionally satisfying.  Alas, they had to establish a new, totally-insane character.  Ramsey Snow (Bolton) is an EVIL Loony Tune.  This guy is crazy in a way that even the Joker would be a little weirded out by.  It is telling that they introduce him by having him hunting a young woman for sport, with some other lady who he is having sex with.  I don’t remember them explaining what her relationship to him is, but I’m sure it’s messed up.  Then you have Theon, who has been turned into Ramsey’s slave, after being psychologically broken.  Can’t say I was too sad about that.  Theon was a piece of shit.  Still, sucks to be him.

Then you have Tyrion.  He is, without a doubt, my favorite character in the series.  It’s telling that he is George R.R. Martin’s favorite character too, which gives me hope that he will live.  Which reminds me – that show’s reputation for killing everyone off is SO overblown!  A lot of people die, but I’ve seen more characters I came to like die in The Walking Dead and Attack on Titan!  People who say that everyone dies are really overselling this show.  But yeah, you get to see a new side of him.  My favorite moment with Tyrion is right before the trial by combat.  He is talking to Jaime, and it is a surprisingly-human moment.  He looks back at the past and you see a part of him that acknowledges that there is a very real possibility that he will die.  What he ponders on is fascinating, and that scene is one that would go on a list of my favorite scenes, were I to make one.  Not likely. Though, I will be making a list of Top 10 Game of Thrones Characters, once the series is done.  Thus far, you all know who is at the top.

However, the two characters that really came into their own in this season were Arya Stark and Jon Snow.  Both gave amazing performances, and both found something about themselves that they didn’t see before.  For Arya, it was a darker side.  Indeed, the darkness ran thick with that one in this season.  She gets a couple of kills under her belt, and it is pretty intense stuff.  She finds something about herself that she hadn’t seen before.  The scared girl who was new to the world is long gone.  It is fitting that the season ends (for real, I’m about to give away a major plot point, people!) with her on the way to Braavos, to learn the way of the Faceless Men.  Then there’s Jon Snow.  He really comes into his own as a leader in this season.  Hints at how he is going to have a much larger role to play in the events to come.  By the end of the season, pretty much all of the Night’s Watch leadership is dead, and it is understood that Jon Snow is going to be the front-runner for the role.  By the end of the season, he is clearly in control of the Watch, and pretty much everyone there respects him.  This matters more than ever, since Stanis Baratheon has come to the Wall, and he knows who Jon Snow is.  What’s more, he seems to respect him.  This is going to go a long way, down the road.  I can feel it.

The next season has promise to be the biggest one yet.  The Seven Kingdoms are going to shit, Winter is coming, and the threat of the White Walkers is bigger than ever before.  I have no doubt that shit is going to get real!  It’s almost too exciting!  HBO, don’t fuck this up.  You have a chance to get mad-views in.  Hell, some places are showing the episodes in theaters.  Why do I live in such a ho-hum city!  That sounds kind of fun.  We’ll see what happens next.  What do you all think?  Let me know down in the Comments section.

Until next time, a quote,

“So what do you think?  Why did he do it?  What was it all about?” – Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

