SIONR: ‘Life is Strange’ is ‘SJW: The Game’?

There was a trailer for a game released yesterday.  I hadn’t even heard of it until today, when I saw a question on Ask posed to a YouTuber I watch.  The game is called Life is Strange.  It’s made by Square Enix and some other studio.  It is taking on an episodic format and seems to have taken a lot of cues from Telltale’s The Walking Dead.  You know, here is the trailer, so you can see it for yourself –

So, a few things to talk about.  First, all the accolades.  Can you PLEASE stop sucking this game’s dick before it comes out?  I hate when companies do this.  You don’t have to jerk it off, just tell me what the game is about.  I will admit, the concept looks intriguing.  One of my favorite anime films is The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, and this clearly took a few cues from that.  Riffing on two sources.  I know, there’s no such thing as an original plot.  And who knows, maybe this will mix it up.  But yeah, that aside, it looks intriguing.

Though the thing that caught people’s attention – who is saying this game is so awesome, before it even comes out.  I am involved with GamerGate, and anyone who is knows that most, if not all of those publications has been part of a concerted and corrupt effort, with close ties to Puritan feminism.  These people think that all gaming is just white neckbeards in basements.  Yeah, they caricature gamers a lot.  Real winners, that lot.  Anyway, that’s not the point.  They are singing this game’s praises.  Why?  It isn’t out yet.  You’re talking about how this game is Gone Home mixed with The Walking Dead, when you are just as much unaware as I am.  Maybe it’s because the protagonist is female, and she doesn’t look like a woman from Soul Calibur.  Is that all it takes, for you?

Because all of these sites are singing this game’s praises, a lot of gamers who aren’t on their side of the major-divide are saying that this is “SJW: The Game.”  But is it really?  To me, I think that that is unfair, to just condemn this before we even know what it is.

I have a rule that I have always stuck to when it comes to fictional mediums – don’t judge a book by its cover.  Look at what happened to the film Dredd.  That was a really good movie, yet people took a giant shit all over it, because it had the unfortunate association of the film with Sylvester Stallone.  The movie totally bombed, and that was a bummer, because it was actually really good.  And given that criteria, I am going to make a statement – don’t judge a game based on its associations.  Just because Kotaku thinks that this game is Anita Sarkeesian-esque-approved doesn’t mean that it is going to suck.  Hell, this game may spit in all their faces.  The protagonist may be some psycho-bitch who thinks that women are whores and only talks to guys.  I’ve known a few of those.  Hell, one of my closest friends is a woman who has a VERY low opinion of women.

I was planning on doing this video as a First Take, but the truth is, if I am actually going to talk about this game, it would have to be done as a Self-Indulgent and Overstated Nerdrage post.  We don’t know what this game will be.  As for myself, I am intrigued.  I will download it when it comes out, because I’m assuming that they are going to do the Walking Dead approach and have the slices at $5 a pop.  I’ll download it off PSN and then judge for myself.  Because, at the end of the day, I may be annoyed as fuck with SJWs, but I won’t become like them by judging things without knowing them.

We all should be better than that.

Until next time, a quote,

“Stupid is as stupid does.”  -Forrest Gump

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

