500 Subscribers! How Far We’ve Come

500 LikesWell, I hit a milestone on my blog today.  Something that I thought I would recognize and give thanks for.  I started this blog in 2009.  My first post was about a rally I attended protesting Glenn Beck and Sarah Palin’s little pow-wow.  That was back when I was into the whole being a journalist thing.  How jaded I’ve become.  Looking back, the story was raw, my writing style needed work, and it wasn’t the greatest article.  But it was the beginning of what has become my online portfolio, that I will be using to help me get writing jobs in the future.

When I first started, I never figured that I would get an audience.  I figured that I would be writing to an audience of 20-50 people and that was it.  When I got 100 views was a milestone.  Now, if I get less than 300 in a day that’s odd.  When I reached 100 subscribers, it was incredible.  I never believed that I would get that far.  Now, I am at 500.  That’s amazing.  So, when did things really pick up?

It was a couple of things.  Firstly, it was when I started doing Top 10 posts.  Those kind of posts always attract an audience.  But when things really got going was when I did my first Character Analysis.  I did it on the Joker.  Love it or hate it, a lot of people have had opinions about it.  It still gets over 30 hits every day, to this day.  But I think the thing that really has worked in my favor is the sheer variety of my writing.  I don’t just do responses to current events.  Sometimes I do fiction work, like an entire series I did on my blog called “Quinn.”  I’ve also done some emo poetry.  No, it’s not emo.  Just kinda dark.  I’m not THAT pretentious.  I remember in class once, we were told that having a blog that is dedicated to something is a good way to being forgotten.  There are a TON of vacation blogs and other such things.  If you want an audience, you can either have a niche, or have a bunch.  I chose quantity with quality over a single niche.

However, the truth is – I wouldn’t have gotten this far without all of you.  I’ve have subscribers come and go, but some of you I have had for years.  For each person who has decided to keep reading our stuff, I am very grateful.  It is because of you that I am becoming a name that people know.  WordPress lets you see what search terms find your blog.  People are looking me up by name, or my name and the post they are looking for.  That is amazing!  How far I’ve come and how far I will go is because of all of you.  Even if you don’t stick with me forever, I am grateful all the same.  I don’t forget the people who help me get far.  To quote a favorite character, “A Lannister always pays their debts.”

So, what is next for this blog?  Well, I’m not sure.  I am going to be doing my Top 10 Most Anticipated Games of 2015 either today or tomorrow.  I have finally got my response articles to be the kind of professional that I wanted, while still possessing my flair.  My blog has reached a point where it is finally looking like a good online portfolio.  But don’t go thinking that we are going to slow down.  Hell no!  In fact, we’ve just gotten started.  Reaching 500 subscribers has lit a fire under our ass, and this blog has only the sky as the limit.

I have come a long way, and I still don’t know where exactly I am going, but I thank you all, or sticking with me.  Or, if you just arrived, hopefully you find something worth sticking around for.  Or not.  Free market and all that jazz.

I thank you all. 🙂

Until next time, a quote,

“At the end of the day, let there be no excuses, no explanations, no regrets.” -Steve Maraboli

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

