Internet Aristocrat Walks Away From #GamerGate

I noticed something the other day – a couple of videos that I favorited by a YouTube vlogger called Internet Aristocrat disappeared.  I gotta say, I’m kind of bummed about that.  I’ve been watching this guy’s stuff ever since he was making the Tumblrisms videos.  The first time I actually knew who he was was the response to #CancelColbert.  His videos are funny, well-researched and his voice is nice to listen to.  Plus, the picture he uses to represent himself is just awesome.  It has a staying power, much like Mykeru’s guy with the cow head and the knife behind its back.  He has left YouTube, Twitter, the whole nine yards.  He made a voice message as his farewell (linked here), and I suggest you watch it, because I think it is worth talking about.

You know, the first time that I heard about GamerGate was with the Internet Aristocrat’s video on the Zoe Quinn post.  He brought to light all of the corruption that got this ball rolling.  The Quinnspiracy videos were enlightening and really got me to looking at parts of the gaming media that I had always avoided.  It got me looking at lots of different stuff.  I got me wanting to get informed, so I could look at this and be a part of it.  Then, there was the GamerGate video that he did.  I kept waiting for a second, but it never came.  Now I know that it never will.  Internet Aristocrat was one of the key players who began the GamerGate movement.  Him and several others led the charge.  And when the battle was going strong, that was great.  A lot of stuff got done.  But now that the battle is no longer on one front, with a solid formation, he is leaving.  GamerGate isn’t doing what he wanted it to do anymore, and now he is walking.  That rubs me wrong.

Another YouTube personality I follow – Mundane Matt, raised a great point in a response he did to IA (linked here) – he didn’t want the fame.  He didn’t want to become this big icon in a consumer revolt.  Fame is a very big thing, that people take for granted.  With fame, there comes responsibilities.  I am not famous.  I know that.  I am coming up on 500 subscribers, here on WordPress, so I am just a drop in the bucket, compared to the amount that IA was about to achieve.  He was going close to 100,000.  That is big!  That’s among the peak personalities on YouTube.  I can’t imagine having that many.  But it is a responsibility.  I was watching old Nostalgia Critic videos, and he talked about this in a vlog he did as Doug Walker.  He talked about how people cared now what his opinion on stuff was, and he had to respect that, because he couldn’t just shit on his fans.  So IA didn’t want that responsibility.  I get that.  For real, I do.  I get that and I sympathize with it.

When I started this blog, I didn’t think that I would get more than a few dozen subscribers.  When I got over 100, I was amazed.  Back then, I was getting around 20-50 views per day.  Then, I did my first Character Analysis page, where I did an analysis of the Joker.  To this day, that post gets over 30 hits per day.  I never thought that I would be somebody who is known.  But you know what – this blog has gotten me two jobs as a contributor on two websites.  The first I walked away from.  Now I am writing regularly on a site called Gambitcon.  This blog has been looked up on websites that are professional analysis sites.  Professionals are looking at my page.  That fills me with a lot of awe and humility that I could get this kind of popularity.

So IA didn’t want the fame that came with becoming the tip of a spear that was leading the charge of GamerGate.  Well, dude, I’m sorry, but you have nobody but yourself to blame.  He says that he is annoyed at the appeal to moderates.  To me, that makes no sense.  Anybody who knows anything about politics knows that the only way you can really get things done is to appeal to the people in the middle.  The middle-ground crowd who doesn’t have feelings one way or the other.  You have to get those people on your side.  The Puritan Feminists knew it.  Why do you think that Anita Sarkeesian went on all the different news groups that weren’t Fox or CNN?  Because she knew that the best way for their side to win was for them to get the public at large to be on their side.  It nearly worked, too.  So GamerGate trying appeal to that crowd is smart.  You can’t just look to your base all the time.  ask the democrats how that went in the last election.

There is also the issue of people trying to capitalize on GamerGate.  Parts of that, I agree with, like the people who were trying to get Indiegogo and other projects going, using GamerGate to get financial backing.  Yeah, that’s a bit exploitative.  But then he brings up people who monetize their YouTube videos and stuff like that.  Dude, there’s nothing wrong with wanting to make a little money.  It isn’t a lot.  It isn’t massive wealth.

In the end, it all seems to come down to this – Internet Aristocrat is a soldier.  He was in this battle to fight the good fight and he wanted GamerGate to be an all-out war.  Unfortunately, it couldn’t be that way forever.  For a time, it was, and it was amazing.  We got so much done during that point.  But eventually, it had to tone down and the elements had to have their own fronts.  Every war has its Blitzkrieg, Shock and Awe phase.  But then it becomes a battle of different fronts and different factions.  That’s the nature of the beast.  I’m sorry that you didn’t want to stick around for that.

GamerGate continues.  I don’t know for how much longer, but the movement does continue.  We are past the Blitz, and now we are each fighting our own battles.  Where will it all end up?  Who knows.  It could go either way.  I, for one, am glad to be a part of this.  There are problems, sure.  But what war doesn’t have them?

But don’t take this as me shitting on Internet Aristocrat.  I loved his videos, and truth be told, I am going to miss his content.  He was fun to watch and it is a genuine shame that it all turned out this way.  If and when he does keep coming back, I am sure that someone will link to me his stuff, and I will enjoy watching it again.

Until next time, a quote,

“Old soldiers never die.  They just fade away.”  -Gen. Douglas MacArthur

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

