Are “Gamers” Dead? No. (A Response to Backlash of #GamerGate)

I suppose I could end this post there, and that would be it.  But I want to expand on this, because some recent conversations and watched some videos following the end of the whole GamerGate fiasco and it got me to thinking.

I don’t know what happened along the way.  Perhaps I forgot about what happened to disillusion me to corporate news and the bias in the media.  I forgot that the news is bias as fuck and the world of reporting facts just doesn’t exist.  The Huffington Post doesn’t make money by writing factual stuff.  They make money with click-bait horseshit.  For real, it’s all too dumb to be a political agenda.  These sites just want to make money.  So they pander a certain line in order to do so.  I hardly read The Huffington Post anymore, because I just got tired of all the crap that I see on there.  I read The Guardian and watch BBC and PBS for my news.  When I saw the story about Zoe Quinn and all that BS, I got annoyed because I always kind of figured that a medium that supports a hobby of mine would be above that kind of petty crap.  But I forgot that all media is like this.  How did I forget?  Who knows.

Now, however, I realize something – who the fuck cares what Kotaku or any of those sites have to say?  I never really followed them all that closely anyway.  I would watch Angry Joe, The Investigamer, Angry Video Game Nerd and several others on YouTube in order to hear about new games, along with Gametrailers, and I would watch trailers and evaluate them for myself, outside of the whole sphere of what people on news websites that don’t do real research anyway have to say.  I would actually think for myself and talk to the people who I know who are gamers (which has gotten a lot smaller these days.  For real, I remember a time when I would see a new trailer and gush with my people.  Now, it’s just me and my split personality.  Sigh…) and we would do our own thinking.  What does anybody care what people at Kotaku think?  So a woman decided to sleep with a person who reviewed her game.  This is media, after all.  And as I’ve said, it’s all corrupt.

But there is something that I thought was worth commenting on.  A final part of the backlash that really ended the discussion once gamers like me realized that the other side of this debate has nothing of any worth to say.  What was this little tidbit?  They said that the term “Gamer” is dead and that the gamer culture is also dead.  And you know what – that’s bullshit!  It couldn’t be further from the truth.  Gamer culture is doing great!  Most people didn’t even hear about all this stuff with Zoe Quinn, because they didn’t care.  They were too busy being pissed at EA for fucking up yet-another Sims game in the latest version.  They were too busy being underwhelmed by the overhyped Destiny.  Or, if they are me, they are too busy with class and stuff that matters to get involved in any of this BS.  Gamers are too busy playing games.

What’s more, all the people like Anita Sarkeesian and her ilk aren’t even talking about anything worth talking about anyway.  You know why?  Because they are painting the gaming community as a bunch of neckbeards who sit in basements and hate women, when the reality couldn’t be further from that.  Gamers are normal people!  For real, the average age of a gamer is 25-35.  The people who love this medium the most are those who grew up with it and have watched it grow into what it is today.  It is a lot of guys, but a lot of women who are unique and fun people are getting into it as well.  The latest people to join the party and millennials, and you know what – they are less sexist than ever beore.  All this stuff about how oppressed women are in this country is bullshit and the fact that people like Anita Sarkeesian and her followers can only complain about video games, with that being the high point of their argument about sexism and misogyny, shows that they have no real ground to stand on.

Gamers are not just neckbeards in basements.  They’re professionals.  They’re stoners.  They’re liberals.  They’re conservatives.  They’re straight and gay.  They’re casual and hardcore.  They’re men AND women.  They’re young and old.  They’re all walks of life.  Everybody plays video games.  Anita Sarkeesian has NO basis for her accusations for all the misogyny in gaming because the fact is – she’s wrong!  If all this misogyny were so ubiquitous, then why is it that people are now more accepting and open-minded than ever before?

Gaming is now a force to be reckoned with.  I remember an article where they talked about how Halo 4 premiered with sales that were in the same range as Hollywood movies.  Companies like the now defunct Studio Ghibli (may they rest in peace *sad face*) teamed up with a gaming company to make an AMAZING RPG called Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch.  This medium is everywhere.  It is now being recognized more and more as an art medium, with games like Limbo, Shadow of the Colossus and Journey telling beautiful and heart-wrenching tales with visual elements that help the story grow.  You get characters like Joel and Ellie and the beautiful and tear-jerking relationship that develops between them in The Last of Us.

So gamers aren’t dead.  Gaming culture is alive and well.  In fact, it’s bigger now than it’s ever been, and that doesn’t look to change.  But hey, Kotaku, if you want to believe that gaming is dead, then please, go and write about something else.  Maybe you’ll find your niche somewhere else.  See how that works out for you.

Until next time, a quote,

“But I warn you, you will be missed.  For all of 30 seconds.”  -Shirley Schmidt, Boston Legal

Peace out,

Maverick

Leave a Reply

