Lucien’s Review: Her

HerWe all have these film experiences where we are left at the end with some complicated feelings that we can’t sort out.  Like, you have to think about it long after you get home.  It affects you in such a way that you can’t stop thinking about it for some time.  These are the films that stick with you forever, which you can’t discontinue pondering.  The films you love above all others, because they made you feel in a way you hadn’t felt before.  Spike Jonze’s latest film, Her, did that for me.  Up front, this a film that has touched me in a way that few have before.  And given that, I can’t just talk about this in a way that I talk about video games and other things.  I have to talk about some of the aspects that are so great.  It may sound pretentious, but so be it.  I want you all to understand why this movie means so much to me.  I’ll do my best not to spoil anything too major, but I have to look at this deeper.  I hope you enjoy.

I’ll give you a rundown of the plot first, just so you can follow.  The film is set in the not-too-distant future, but it never tells you exactly when, so that that isn’t the focus.  It follows a lonely writer of letters named Theodore, played by Joaquin Phoenix.  He works for a company that makes letters that look hand-written, for people who can’t make them for themselves.  He finds out about a new operating system that is an AI that can interact with a person and grow.  His Operating System (OS) is named Samantha, voiced by Scarlett Johansson.  As the two grow to know one-another, they find a love that is so different from what either of them can understand.

Everyone who was in this film was amazing, I will say that much.  I have to say it, because so much of how realistic this film felt was due to how realistic the dialogue was.  This was not a happy film, but it wasn’t genuinely depressing, either.  It was a film that was more about the journey that Theodore goes through with this OS that is able to fill a void in his life that is something that so many people can relate to.

I can see this happening in real life.  I see it especially happening with men.  Women don’t seem to accept how they have pick of the litter with men, while men are having to look for whatever they can find.  This belief that guys are so shallow and only want supermodels is so outdated and wrong that it bugs me.  But when you have an intelligence that is all its own, learning with you and becoming connected to you in a serious way, I can see this kind of romance happening quite often.

This was a film that showed a lot of how lonely our society is.  Theodore worked for a service for people who couldn’t write in an emotional way, so they would pay others to do it for them.  The more technology gives us, the lonelier we become.  People are always on their phones, always texting and online.  Human interaction is getting harder and harder to come by.  When you have an intelligence that can grow and learn and want to become more with you, the draw would be undeniable.  For guys like me, who find it impossible to date, we can’t help but admire the concept.

This was not a happy or sad film, as we said, but it is emotionally powerful.  Theodore has a roller-coaster ride of emotions through the film as he is working to get past his own fears and pains.  The dialogue between him and Samantha can be so heart-breaking.

This is a film that made me cry.  I love it.  It is one of the few genuinely perfect movies.  If you haven’t seen it, do.  Like, as soon as possible, before it leave the theaters.  Or, if you can’t see it there, see it at home.  I guarantee you, you won’t be disappointed.

Final Verdict
10 out of 10

Peace out,

Maverick

2 thoughts on “Lucien’s Review: Her

    • Well-put. I like how they don’t just immediately jump into it. The bonding between the two feels real and takes its time. It isn’t like some Disney three-day romance, which makes it all the better. It is fun to see Theodore seeming very confused by this new system.

Leave a Reply

